Most taxing thing so far - getting to the airport


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
September 17th 2007
Published: September 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Home from homeHome from homeHome from home

Five star, soon to be filled with Holly crap - sorry boys!
Give me a 22 hr flight over an hour and a half of travelling in London any day. Flight was fine, feel ok jet lag wise -though thought it was 8.00 not 9.00- mmmm maybe clocks wrong. But other than that ok, always change watch at airport - best travel advice ever.

Anyway, am here.

Things that went wrong - all in London.
1. Tubes all cancelled - what a surprise. So taxi (begrudgingly) to Wands Common in a car that I don’t think will make the end of the road - let alone up a hill,
2. Cheap taxi nearly knocks me out as the knackered boot slams on my head when I get my over-packed bags. Pay for the privilege. Ah well, probably only need half a brain here anyway.
3. Train is delayed 20 mins - good job I left at 7.00 for a 12.20 flight then!
4. On tube to terminals 1-3 - no idea how to get to 4? Use power of positive thought - it works.
5. Airport - now this could go on. Firstly - rock on up with visa thinking about how everyone says ‘aisle seat, aisle seat’, to find out people have been checking in since 6.00! What. So stuck in mid row with no obvious chance of being bumped up to, say, first class?
6. Visa was £7.50, (bargain), bought ages ago, (organised), since then I have updated my passport like a responsible adult (idiot), doesn’t match my visa. So have to fork out £25 quid. Queue for ages to pay, woman doesn’t take switch (seriously), haul bags to cash point, queue again. Feel like criminal (surely that means I should get one free).
7. Finally through. Am changing money thinking 1.9 is a crap exchange rate and as I’m about to enter my pin I’m thinking, that my money is very green and defo not waterproof, ho hum, press enter - nearly - ummmm, Oz dollars? Man at exchange place gives me dirty look as if to say ‘stupid blonde girl bet she can’t even point to Australia on a map,’ (I can). (Now). So, ask for dollars - get American as default apparently - he must be the only person who didn’t know I was coming to Oz.
8. Try to buy gifts, can’t take anything nice and liquidy in hand luggage so give up.
9. Get on plane. No men to perve at on the 22 hr flight so won’t be joining the mile high club any time soon, in fact everyone’s middle aged or old, like a plane full of Alf Stewarts. This isn’t how it was promoted in the guidebook.

Hong Kong
I only spent an hour in Hong Kong Felt like, Scarlett Johansson in Lost in Translation. Eerily quiet and misty, couldn’t see anything but the planes outside. No scenery. People with Quantas stickers on walk round the airport like Zombies from another world, it’s like the locals have been drugged and forced to eat ramen for breakfast, white people have been made to eat at Burger King, while we all walk round trying to circulate blood back into our fat ankles. Bizarre.

So I’m here anyway. First person I saw at airport looked liked Bruce - come back Alf Stewart’s all is forgiven. First thing I saw on news was about Billie from Neighbours, first drink I had was Carlton Draught and Ian’s boyfriend nearly wet himself when I innocently asked how I got off the tram, (button, rope, yell?)

Feel like I’m at home really, could be in Clapham so far, but in a million dollar flat, feels like hotel but homely - very lovely.

Off to tackle the 86 tram and find Federation Square later to meet Daniel and Ian, but may wander round Queens Parade first.

Sure it will sink in then. X x

PS. Ffffing freezing - coldest day they have had so far yesterday. Joy!


Advertisement



17th September 2007

What a brilliant start!
I'm glad you had such a good start to your holiday ;-) hope the mess was worth it and you'll have a brilliant holiday!
18th September 2007

Worth the hassle, definitely.

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb