AUSTRALIA


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » St Kilda
June 30th 2010
Published: July 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It was really hard to say goodbye to Pete in New Zealand. I didn't think it would be as hard as it was. But, we will keep in touch and he's not that far away right now. He took part of the day off to spend with me. He took me for some lunch and then I mailed some last minute things back home and then it was time to go to the airport. He gave me a hoodie of his that he knows I love and it was really nice of him. It's my favorite hoodie! We said a tearful goodbye at the airport and I was on my way to a new adventure and country # 34 I think.

I arrived in Melbourne and my friend Leahanne was at the airport to pick me up. Leahanne and I met way back in 2006 where we were working together at a call center in Cork, Ireland. We've stayed in touch since parting ways in Europe.

It was so great to have someone waiting at the airport for me. And she gave me a good welcome with a stuffed kangaroo and an Australian stubby holder. She drove us through part of Melbourne to get to her area known as St. Kilda. Melbourne is HUGE. It's like coming into the future after spending the last few months in New Zealand. The whole population of New Zealand lives just in Melbourne. St. Kilda is right on the beach and is a hip/funky area. Leahanne lives with another Australian girl named Karen. We spent the evening catching up.


I've posted some pictures of the car that Pete was working on here if you want to see them






Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.715s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 19; qc: 68; dbt: 0.5735s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb