Australia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » St Kilda
January 17th 2008
Published: January 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

MelbourneMelbourneMelbourne

Dart champions
On Friday 11th of January, I landed in Melbourne where Sophie and Andrew picked me up form the airport. Sophie is...humm...Manu's "CLOSEST FRIEND...". I was invited to stay with Andrew and his wife, Christelle aka Couinette, who is Sophie's sister. What can I say...I had a ball in there and really wish I had more time to spend in Melbourne especially with you guys. The way you've looked after me was just sensational.
What we did there in so few days was just amazing: from visiting and going out in Melbourne city to driving the Great Ocean Road.
The first night was class as we went straight from the airport to a house party where we had a dart contest...Andrew won easily (that's what you get when you spend the first 19 years of your life in England mate 😉
The day after we went downtown and visited Victoria's market before heading to the center and then going out to a live venue till very late. I managed to catch up with Seamus that night who's been on the road for the last 5 months, was so cool. I have to say that Sydney was great as it is such a
MelbourneMelbourneMelbourne

Dart champions
beautiful city but Melbourne really seems that it has much more to offer. The buzz there is great.
On the sunday we went to the country side (Somers) to visit one of Andrew's mate, Simon. Thanks so much man for all the advices on India, Nepal and so on...It was such a great day, from a lovely BBQ to swimming in huge waves. We spotted koalas in the trees as well and had loadza beer...To my Irish and French friends, I am sorry to say that I have played Cricket that afternoon, and even more sorry to say I really did enjoy it...was grat fun in fairness...
On the monday morning, we hit the road ealry to get to the Great Ocean Road: oh my god, I dont think I have seen something as beautiful yet, the pics speak for themselves I hope. This was just amazing...we stayed in a little place that night where we had dinner at The Vista. Thank you so much again Couinette for finding that place; this was just the best meal I had in Australia. The service was brilliant and the seafood an absolute delight...enjoy da pics of the meals, sure you'll be jealous.
MelbourneMelbourneMelbourne

In the suburb where Andrew and Couinette live

The 2nd day of that journey, we drove to the 12 apostles: it was the best part of the Great Ocean Road.
To finish the day in style we went to St Kilda which is a very cool place in Melbourne to go out. The tapas were nice and it was just a perfect way to chill after the 2 days of travelling.
I was really sad that night that I had to leave for Christchurch as I would have loved to discover more from Melbourne, but I have a deal with Andrew to come back for the OZ open. Before that, I see you all in Dublin ok!!
Sophie, thank you so much for asking me to come at first place and for your exceptional friendship, you're just a joy to be around ;0) Best of luck with the job in Melbourne and enjoy every minute there.
Couinette and Andrew: thanks so much again for everything you've done...I'm looking forward to seeing you in Dublin anytime!
Take care!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 112, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

In the suburb where Andrew and Couinette live
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

In the suburb where Andrew and Couinette live
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

In the suburb where Andrew and Couinette live
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

City center: old building where thay have built a new shopping mall around it, original.
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Art in city center
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Tram of Melbourne
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Train station
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

by the river
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Train Station
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Train Station
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Graffiti in Melbourne city
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Graf in Melbourne
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Graf in Melbourne
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Graf in Melbourne
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Beautiful view from the jacks of a very fancy hotel ;)
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Beautiful view from the jacks of a very fancy hotel ;)
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Beautiful view from the jacks of a very fancy hotel ;)
MelbourneMelbourne
Melbourne

Jamie Oliver's restaurant


Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0171s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb