The wonderful 'Liz'ard of Oz!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Ramsay Street
March 12th 2007
Published: March 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

SydneySydneySydney

Faye and I outside the Opera House
(Should point out, I'm not technically in Ramsay St, but this is the dream...)
Faye and I woke up at 4:15 this morning to crawl out of bed (we had been sleeping on couches for the two previous nights, so it was nice to be in a bed!) and gather our bags before taking a bus and two trains to reach the airport. All went smoothly though, and we arrived safely at Melbourne airport where Geoff (of Geoff and Carmen, Faye's family friends) met us and brought us back to his home just outside Melbourne. It's a lovely house, and Faye and I are really looking forward to having a base here for the next 6 days. In Sydney we stayed in two hostels to begin with - 'base' Backpackers and Sydney Backpackers, both of which were absolutely fine, and quite good fun! base was more of a party hostel, and certainly more popular; we had to move to Sydney Backpackers as there wasn't room for us to stay...but in the end, we had a better night's sleep in Sydney Backpackers anyway, as we haven't really found our party feet yet! We did go out to Scubar in Sydney, where we were harrassed by a Norwegian surfer (highly amusing) and danced by ourselves as everyone else crowded around the bar...well, I had fun, anyway! During our days in Sydney we wandered on Oxford St and saw some very questionable shops (we ate right next to 'Sex Fettish'), as well as some gorgeous apartments with intricate iron railings lining their outsides; Faye was reminded of San Fran, I of Italy. We also spent time at Circular Quay, which I really, really enjoyed - just being there makes you feel you're in the heart of Sydney, especially on Saturday evening when it was packed with girls in floaty summer dresses and men in smart shirts holding cocktail glasses. I also visited The Rocks Market whilst Faye did her bridge climb, which turned out to be a mistake for my wallet (I should not be allowed to shop without supervision)! One of the best things abouy Sydney though, and it's similar to NYC in this way, is its diversity; one minute we were wandering through Chinatown and the next we were sunbathing in the enchanting grounds of Hyde Park. We also spent time living in Bondi with Faye's friend Lydia and her wicked housemates
The Opera HouseThe Opera HouseThe Opera House

Picturesque
Jo and Lisa, and obviously took full advantage of being so close to the beach (the only dodgy experience being that I almost drowned and made two surfers jump off their boards as they avoided running me over! Lol I'm such a hazard)! Every day I still get a tingle down my spine as I realise afresh where I am and what I'm doing...bring on the joys of Melbourne ("a living city, Melbourne, a great place to beee, to beeee, waaaaooh!")!
Added 18th March 2007 - Have since visited Ramsay Street (check out me and Karl Kennedy!) and am now in Brisbane! Melbourne was awesome too - update coming soon!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The HarbourThe Harbour
The Harbour

Million dollar view!
SydneySydney
Sydney

Faye...
A night out!A night out!
A night out!

Faye and I
NeighboursNeighbours
Neighbours

Me and Karl: besties!
Sunset in FijiSunset in Fiji
Sunset in Fiji

I'm getting good at using my camera :-D


18th March 2007

The I love Boyd Club
Oh my god Lizzie, please tell me you didn't meet Boyd Hoyland?!?!?! If you did I will be SO jealous!!!! xxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb