The Wonders of Australian Residency


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Hawthorn
January 28th 2011
Published: January 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hellooooo everyone! Long time no.. blog.

Anyway, I thought I'd start this bad boy up again, considering I am once again traveling.. sort of. I'm actually really just living... in a different country. However, this country is surprisingly similar to the States, so don't expect any teeth to get knocked out while trying to ford a mighty river or any life altering revelations at the peak of a Laotian mountain. My highlights thus far have been fairly mundane to the average human being. To me, however, these highlights have been AWESOME! Outstanding moments include: purchasing, moving, and constructing a bed; getting my first casual employment placement; finding a house, moving into said house (see aforementioned construction of bed), and loving my housemates; and meeting lots of fun new people. While these things may seem boring to you, I must say... today officially completes my second week in Australia, and I have already managed to move into a house, make friends, furnish my room, find a (temporary) job, set up a bank account, figure out public transport (inclusive of purchase of monthly plan), purchase a cell phone, and basically become a semi-integrated member of Australian society. SUCCESS!!!

Now I just have to work on my bank of amusing stories.

Will get back to you on that one.

...This is a worthless blog entry.

OOH! OOH! I THOUGHT OF SOMETHING WORTHWHILE TO SAY!!! My cousin/one of my best friends, Molly Slavin, is coming to visit meeeeeee!!! She's flying into Perth (the future location of residence of the beautiful Christina Hoyt and the current location of the fabulous Christopher Bates, among many other furry Aussie creatures) on April 29th and we're spending the weekend there. After that, we're flying to Melbourne together for about four days, and then will spend the next weekend in Sydney. THEN we are flying to NEW ZEALAND (scoooore!!!), where we will stay and frolick together for about 10 days. VERY excited for this wonderful adventure. Molly will be heading back to Galway on the 18th, and I will head back to Melbourne. Soooooooo excited. Also, another quick update: Christina is moving to Perth on February 6th! Yay Christina! I'm hoping to visit her for her birthday as well =)

Advertisement



29th January 2011

Nice!
Not as exciting as some of your former blogging but really nice to hear you're settling in with the Aussies. Great goup of people, the Aussies. Have fun, Bethie! xo

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb