Going Solo


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » City Centre
December 9th 2008
Published: December 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

G'day!!

Well... after the struggle of beach life in phuket we embarked on a hideously long journey to KL. We planned to spend a night in Hat Yai which was about half way but when we got there at 4am it didnt really seem appealing! We were told it wasnt a nice part of thailand so thought we wouldnt waste our time and got another bus to KL... just under 24hrs after leaving phuket! only luckiness was buses un thailand were much more comfortable so we got a bit of sleep. Donna treated us to a little bit of luxury for our final night together so we checked into the Dorset Hotel - very posh!! Then went out for a lovely moroccan and had my first bit of lamb for weeks.... yum!
Had best nights sleep of the whole trip!!
Spent the day mooching around KL and quiet frankly, we were bored! Filled the day with drink and food - standard.
Took Madonna to the airport in the eve. Really very strange (especially thinkin you're readin it madge!) and it was weird to say goodbye and think our wee trip was over. So, me myself and I went back to our room for one....
In her evilness of leaving, I was subjected to another day in KL!!! More mooching and eating...

Headed to airport sun 7th. Greeted to 2hr delay - and a free meal voucher whoop whoop! Time didnt go too slowly and I was on my merry way. Very disappointed that I noticed half hour before we landed that 'the dark night' batman movie was on the film list!! dammit.

Checked into my hostel and its a bit different to what we've had in asia - was massive! I arrived at 11.30pm (added 3hrs in the air) and everyone was asleep in my room. Anyone who knows me knows 'stealth' is not in my genes. But they were clearly sound sleepers as didnt wake when I was shining a torch trying to work out which bed didnt have a body in it! In the morning I found out there were 2 german girls and 1 french, other 2 girls left that day. I spent day getting to know city - I really liked it! I went to immigration and got my visa label put in. This was not necessary as my visas electronic but I wanted it! I like having things in my passport!! ha ha. Barclays wouldnt let me use my card but thats sorted now. Apparently im in high fraud area so though they knew I was travelling they wanted to be sure... (Maybe mum and dad ignore that fraud part yeah??!! its fine, im covered!!) Went to the Marina, sun was shining... Its a pretty beautiful city structurally (that ones for u dad!). Took the free tram around the city and got my bearings. Went with the girls to view the botanical gardens which was pretty enough I suppose for a garden! Saw santa claus! In the sushine with sunglasses on - this makes no sense to me! Chilled in the common room in the eve and chatted to a few people. Really like the feel of melbourne so far... will put a few photos on soon x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb