Job hunting...again!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Brunswick
January 31st 2007
Published: January 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Melbourne!
I have left it far to long to unpdate my blog again so going to try and keep it short and sweet!

Katie and left Brisbane on the 15th Jan, catching the train to Surfers Paradise. I must say, we were not that impressed with Surfers, it was like a tacky coast town and reminded us both of the costa del sol or some thing! am sure it is a great party town but the hostel we were in (called Cheers) had a building site next door and they started work at 7am each morning. Katie and I went on the bar crawl, getting home at 4am and then were woken up at 7am on the first morning so as you can imagine the lack of sleep didn't help our moods! However, I did bump in to some one that I went to college with in Devon. Well, he remembered me and I was oblivious until he showed me an old pic of himself. To be fair to me, he has completely changed and looks v different! so that was a bit of a blast from the past.
We has a day on the beach and I attempted to play pool in a comp ( I sucked) and then the next day we caught the bus to Byron Bay.
Byron Bay was lovely and very chilled out. We were staying at a hostel called Cape Byron Lodge which was really friendly and nice and even though they didn't really have room for us they let us sleep in the TV room for a discounted rate! A girl I met in Brisbane also came and joined us in Byron Bay (more about her later). We had a night out at the infamous cheeky monkeys and cocomangas "night clubs" where we had a good boogie and spent a lovely few days on the beach and bbq'ing at the hostel. The sea was lovely and warm and was the nicest beach I have been to in a long time.

We then caught the over night bus to Sydney, arriving on Sun 21st Jan. We were due to stay in a hostel that we had booked in the guide book but when we arrived it looked like a sh*t whole so after eating our free breakfast we had a scout around and found a really nice hostel called d'lux which was en suite and more like a hotel than a hostel. We were staying in Kings cross so it was full of strip joints, junkies and hookers but lots of late night bars and we had a couple of good nights out and some weird experiences...one legged men asking if we wanted to go and smoke with him, room mate who had a marathon sex session in our room, girl who we travelled from Byron with turning out to be a complete nutter and unhinged....visiting a strip joint etc...
We also did lots of normal things and saw all the sites, the harbour bridge, the opera house and saw Sydney at night on the ferry back from Manley island.
Katies boyfriends mate also managed to get us two free V.I.P tickets to Big Day out, a one day music festival where we saw The Killers, The Streets, Muse, John Butler Trio, Muse, Tool amongst other. We didn't find out until the day that we were going so we were both very hung over but had a really good time and made all the better that it was free!

The next day, we flew to Melbourne! We have been v busy since we have been here and as I have had enough of typing I will summarise by saying that we have moved to a room in shared house that is v cheap and in a great location! we are ten mins walk from the city and five mins from Brunswick st and not far from Kate Chappo. Katie started a job today (lucky bi*ch!) and I have been updated my CV and joining agencies so am making progress...hopefully!

PHEW.....am going to go and let my fingers recover!

LOVE AND KISSES TO ALL x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0856s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb