Thurs-day of fun!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Hawthorn East
May 17th 2012
Published: May 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The city at sunsetThe city at sunsetThe city at sunset

FRom the Eureka
I've been pretty busy the last few weeks trying to work and save up some money but instead I've been seeing the sights of Melbourne with my friends! My english friend Hattie (who has lived here in Aus for the last eleven years) works with me at Bread and Butter and we have somehow managed to have the same days of for several weeks! Hattie is heading back to the UK next week and I'm really going to miss her 😞 Our day off usually ends up being a Thursday and so we decided to make the most of the time we had and go see some sights around the city (Hence the name Thurs-day of fun!).

We took a trip to the Eureka tower in the CBD and took the lift to the 88th floor where there is a sky deck with fantastic views of the city from all directions. By chance we ended up going at sunset, which was beautiful and very romantic. We then braved the frosted glass box known as 'The Edge' which moves out from the building once you are inside and the glass miraculously clears so you can see 285m down to the ground.
Waffles!!Waffles!!Waffles!!

At MAx Brenners
I have to say that it made my knees shake a little but I loved it!

We also took trips out to Chadstone shopping centre (kinda like the trafford centre but with more exoensive designer shops like Gucci and Prada), Ikea, Max Brenner's chocolate shop, ice-skating and aussie themed glow in the dark mini golf.

I also have developed a liking for Aussie rules footbal (AFL) and have been to a few different games. As I live in Hawthorn have decided to support the Hawthorn Hawks. It's just a shame that they have a horrible kit- brown and gold!! Needless to say I won't be wearing the jersey!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Etihad stadiumEtihad stadium
Etihad stadium

Aussie rules!!


Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb