Easter and ANZAC


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Hawthorn East
April 26th 2012
Published: April 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

It's been a pretty boring month in terms of travel, just working lots! I managed to get a kushy deal house-sitting for a lovely family! They had foxtel (like sky), internet and a pool! It was so nice to have a tv and sofa again!!! I worked all through Easter 😞 but it kept me busy so I wasn't too home sick - even when the Easter bunny didn't make it to my house on time! (Must have been on GMT because later in the afternoon I got a surprise lindt egg!)

The weather has started changing as we move from Autumn to Winter. It's around 10 degrees at the coolest which isn't bad at all, especially considering today it was three degrees cooler in England even though it's Spring time! We did have awful rain here this week though! I'm totally used to the rain but it was heavy and almost horizontal!!

I went to my first ever Greek baptism, which was every bit as exciting as you would imagine. There are lots of Greek people here - in fact I think Melbourne has the largest population of Greeks outside of Greece herself! The church was very ornate
Strawberry fieldStrawberry fieldStrawberry field

Hattie working hard :)
and beautifully extravagant but the real tradition was in the after party. The host were fantastic making sure there was plenty of great food and lots of alcohol (I think that's why there was a lot of dancing on tables and over fire!)

I had an early start on the 25th for ANZAC day- where all the Aussie and New Zealand soldiers (past and present) were remembered. I had a 4am start and it was cold, wet, muddy and dark but worth it to hear the service. I made it to work for my 7:30am shift with time for a quick brekkie first!

I took a road trip to Dromana on the Mornington Peninsula with Hattie today ad we got some lovely sun with occasional heavy showers. When it was clear we decided to g strawberry picking at a little farm. It was such good fun 😊 Our strawberries were juicy and sweet so we were very happy!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Juicy StrawberriesJuicy Strawberries
Juicy Strawberries

Hand-picked by moi!


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb