First blog from Oz


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Geelong
November 24th 2008
Published: November 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, here it is, the first post from Australian soil!

I arrived at 9.45pm (Melbourne time) last night, to find a very cold and wet sight greeting me. Perfect, just like home... Hannah and Elle were waiting for me with a huge sign, which was awesome.

The flight was as long and boring as expected, I chatted a little to the girl next to me, she was cool and from Canada. No clue what her name was though, I didn't think to ask. The food was shit as usual, and as usual I hardly slept. By the time I reached Hong Kong I felt like death. Thankfully there was a Burger King at the airport so I could have something decent to eat and know I wouldn't end up throwing it up again after take off. I spoke to a couple from my plane, Trisha and Len (I think - I was pretty out of it in the airport) and they very kindly took me under their wing and made sure I was okay. I had a headache pretty much for the last 6 hours of the flight, so that didn't help with the lack of food and sleep and general nausea. Hong Kong airport was amazing, what I saw of it.

Then it was the "home" stretch of my flight, from Hong Kong to Melbourne. To start with I felt horrific, the headache was bad and I'd have put money on me not making it through the flight without chucking up. It was touch and go at times, but it turned out I'd have backed the losing horse in the long run. Thank god. However I wasn't the only delicate soul on the plane, one poor guy was chucking up something good in the toilet next to me when I got changed ready to land in Melbourne. He looked terrible. I'll be surprised if I don't get a cold or something, the amount of people on the plane with no basic manners, coughing and sneezing over everyone else was appalling.
There was one point in the flight which will always stand out in my mind though. As we flew over the top of Western Australia and down through the Northern Territories, the sun began to set, and I've never seen anything more beautiful in my life. The sky went from dark navy, to sky blue to a starlting orange which all reflected on the cloud layer, it was amazing.

As I said, it was raining when I arrived in Melbourne, we drove back to Geelong, stopping for Maccas on the way and having a quick tour. Arriving at Hannah's we were greeted by her little brother Stephen, or Tramp Boy as I have named him and he introduced himself as last night.

This morning came, bringing the sun with it, but its still freezing here to my mind. The wind creates such a chill! Elle woke Hannah and I up when she got up for work, and she let Aker and Tyson (Hannah's dogs) in. Aker jumped straight on my bed and gave me the biggest dog-lick bath I have ever had. No inch of bare skin was left unbathed. Elle headed off for work, and we spent the day lounging about not doing a whole lot to be honest. I'll go take some photos soon, for now I'm just happy to be here.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb