Thanks for All the Fish !


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Eildon
October 11th 2006
Published: October 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Day 4 of our trip was exploring Lake Eildon and the high country. Lake Eildon is so picturesque. We went up to the spillway lookout for a birds-eye view of the lake and its surrounds. Instead of going fishing at the lake, we went to a trout farm . It only cost a couple of bucks to hire a fishing rod and 4 bucks for baits. However, we have to pay per kilo for every catch. I gave Ryan my fishing rod and taught him how to fish. I guess I wasn't a very good teacher since the only thing he caught was my hair ( lucky it wasn’t my lip or my nose - else it would have been a painful but hilarious flashback scene in the movie “There's Something About Mary” when Ben Stiller gets a fishing lure accidentally hooked through his mouth).

I had never thought that I would be hard pressed to catch a fish in a fish farm ??? It took me hours of casting and reeling…casting and reeling and didn't get even a nibble :<. I got to the point where I was contemplating of going to the “Desperado Pond” for an easy catch. Jamie caught a couple of trouts just few minutes before closing time. Ryan was horrified when he saw the trouts being gutted by one of the staff. He kept saying oh No ! Oh No ! Naughty Guy .... Naughty guy ! (which roughly translates to "Stop Gutting my Fish! You Bastard ! ).

I took the gutted fish back to our holiday flat, sprinkled them with salt & pepper, then stuffed them in the oven and served them for dinner. The smiling half-burnt fish on our dinner plate didn't look that happy but they sure did taste great :> .... Cheers !



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Jamie & RyanJamie & Ryan
Jamie & Ryan

Lake Eildon
RyanRyan
Ryan

Lake Eildon
Black SwansBlack Swans
Black Swans

Lake Eildon


28th December 2006

Nice place to visit
your pictures are very nice, but i have just returned from Lake Eildon and i loved it......

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0169s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb