Corryong Cup - Day 5


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Corryong
January 8th 2009
Published: January 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I'll just give you a short update on day 5. We don't have results yet. Yesterday's Floater task went to Towong and then to Corryong airstrip, about 18 kilometres altogether. The Open class went to Greg Greg, Cudgewa, and goal was at Corryong airstrip as well (about 40 kilometres). Launch conditions were a lot better than the days before, but the air was still very rough. It took me a while to get up, and at 1,000 metres above launch I went on glide towards the turnpoint. I could not find any lift, although I flew along the ridge where I thought I could find something. I made the turnpoint, but still could not find any lift. So I had to land about 10 kilometres from goal. And I did a very nice landing this time. After I had landed, the wind picked up pretty much, and when I arrived at the bombout paddock in order to pick up my car, I saw some glider struggling to move forward.

It was still early in the afternoon, so I decided to go on a little floating tour on the Murray River with Wazza. We drove to a bridge, left the car there, and went into the river with our lilo. It was good fun, but at that point we did not know yet that the tour would take us about three hours in the freezing cold water. We were shivering when we arrived back at the campsite. Still, it had been a fun tour!

Fuer Tag 5 gibt es noch keine Ergebnisse, daher nur ein kurzes Update. Die Aufgabe fuer die Floater Class ging ueber rund 18 Kilometer nach Towong und dann zur Corryong Airstrip. Die Aufgabe der Open Class ging ueber rund 40 Kilometer ueber Greg Greg und Cudgewa ebenfalls zur Corryong Airstrip. Die Bedingungen am Start waren wesentlich moderater als an den letzten Tagen, trotzdem war es in der Luft sehr rumpelig - mit etwas Ueberfahrt fliegen war auf jeden Fall angesagt. Ich machte mich mit etwa 1.000 Metern ueber Startplatzhoehe auf den Weg zum ersten Wendepunkt. Ich fand unterwegs keinen einzigen Bart, glitt mit gespannter VG zum Wendepunkt und machte mich auf den Weg Richtung Ziel. Weil ich allerdings auch weiterhin kein Steigen finden konnte, musste ich rund 10 Kilometer vom Ziel entfernt landen. Mit einer sehr schoenen Landung diesmal. Kurz nachdem ich gelandet war, wurde der Wind sehr viel staerker. Ich holte bei der Landewiese mein Auto ab und sah einige Drachen, die kaum noch gegen den starken Wind ankamen.

Es war noch frueh am Nachmittag, also beschloss ich, mit Wazza zusammen den Murray River hinunterzugondeln, auf einer Luftmatratze. Wir fuhren zu einer Bruecke, wo wir sein Auto stehen liessen, und machten uns auf den Weg. Was wir zu diesem Zeitpunkt noch nicht wussten: Wir wuerden drei Stunden im kalten Wasser verbringen. Bibbernd kamen wir schliesslich und endlich wieder am Campingplatz an. Trotzdem, es war eine sehr witzige Tour!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb