Trip to Tasmania


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Tasmania
September 11th 2010
Published: September 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone,

It's been a while and I thought I'd update the travel blog rather than add pictures on Facebook. It's easier this way. I hope you're all well. This entry is a two week trip I took to Tasmania in September. I was well overdue for a trip away and it had been too long since I saw my family.

I flew into Launceston and my Aunt and Uncle picked me up and I spent the first few days at their property in Liffey. They have 50 acres and it was like paradise. I could move there tomorrow. Saw Dr. Harry at the airport and Bob Brown lives down the road (didn't see him though - a bit busy in Canberra I think......) I've never seen so much wildlife in one place before. Saw a baby echidna on my first morning (didn't get a picture though), wallabies in the chook yard, deer in the bushland (not native, introduced by the English - too quick for me though so no pictures). I haven't seen a platypus yet but I'm still hopeful. And not forgetting Chris and Quent's beautiful lambs. The highlight of my trip.

I went to Hobart for a couple of days and stayed at Jen and Phil's and caught up with Kiah and my cousin Carl. It had been too too long since I'd seen them and had the best time. I'd forgotten how good Tassie Pinot's are and eating too rich food and am paying for it now - but just amazing. Jen and Kiah took me to a great wine bar on Salamanca in Hobart which was great, and Carl took me to breakfast to a great cafe. I also must thank him for taking me to the best shop where I bought a brown bag to replace mine that was stolen in Perth the night before I left. It wasn't all bad as the bag I bought is so much better and a Hobart original so I can't complain. Fiona came and met me in Hobart with Payton, and we headed to Campbell Town. Was great to see her after so long.

I'm in Strahan at the moment visiting Dad, Carolyn and Steph with my Aunt and Uncle which is great. Our first night involved hanging out with the locals at Hamer's, introducing Steph to Jameson (she's converted), and remembering how good Boags is. Today we walked through People's Park to Hogarth Falls and it was so much more beautiful than I imagined. One of my favourite walks I've done in Tasmania. I forgot how fresh the air is down here.

Hope you're all well. I will never get used to these entries. I keep imagining you're thinking, "Who cares?" sorry if you feel that way. Just miss my life as a gypsy......

Danielle xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Locals in StrahanLocals in Strahan
Locals in Strahan

Cass, Katie, Jack and Troy.


12th September 2010

Thanks..
Hey Danielle, Found it and loved it... Was lovely to meet you, Enjoy the rest of your trip! Cheers Cass

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb