Going back in time


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Tasmania » Richmond
December 1st 2010
Published: December 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Did i mention that I LOVE TASMANIA!?

Ive been neglecting my blog for awhile because i have been out exploring, so here is the scoop on the last few days..

I didnt want to do any organized tours, so I have just been taking the bus around the city and surrounds. One day I spent most of the day walking around the harbor shops and spend alot of time in an antique book store.

Then the next day I took a bus to the historic Georgian villiage of Richmond which was built by the convicts that made up the colony in 1838. Pretty much all the buildings in Hobart were build by convicts and they are so beautiful. i went to the Richmond prison and they have stories posted on the wall about the inmmates that lived there, how long and what for. There were some really sad stories. The town (villiage) of Richmond was soooo pretty. I spent the entire day just wanding around the place. The church in the picture is the oldest Catholic church in Australia and the bridge is the oldest bridge as well. Pretty cool. Even the bus ride out there (about an hour trip) was pretty. Past sheep farms and vineyards. I think I saw a dead wombat on the side of the road. my first wildlife siting! haha

The rest of the time I have spent walking around the city and checking things out. There is a free museum here so I spend some time there. They had a whole section on Tassie devils and a video about the thought to be extinct Thylacine. Which just looks like a dog but has like a kangaroo tail and half its body is zebra stripped. Also it is (was) a marsupial. (develops in a pouch) very weird. It looks very science fiction. Last time it was seen was in the early 1900s. Some people believe it is still around. anyways, hope you like the pictures!




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



3rd December 2010

Beautiful pictures. Wish I was there with you!
3rd December 2010

What is the temperature??? How long will you be in that area????
4th December 2010

Photos
Tara, Country side is very pretty. I'm jealous!!!!
7th December 2010

Yeah, its gorgeous! I just wish it was a little warmer here!
7th December 2010

It is about 60 degrees and a bit rainy in Tas. Will be here for another week.

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb