New House....pregnant......Uni Course


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Tasmania » Hobart
March 27th 2009
Published: May 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

How busy can life get? I have not written an entry for a while as I have been somewhat busy.
We have bought a new house in Taroona which has taken a fair bit of time.......moving, new furniture and the like. We are really pleased with the place. Having lived in what amounts to a cardboard box for the last 18 months, we are now rattling around in what feels like a mansion. We are in a very fortunate position. We live really near town but it feels like we are in the bush. Our drive is very very long and we have a secluded little spot in a cul-de-sac. The views we have from the house are amazing and we actually own the land almost as far as we can see (it's bush !) we went on a bush walk the other week which ended up coming down through our own backyard to the house. It's great. Could never afford anything like it back home.
I am also 23 weeks pregnant. We have found out what it is this time - a girl. She's due 27th Sept, all being well. The exciting thing is that most of our family are coming out in the next 6 months or so, so at the moment we have the best of both worlds...............living here and seeing family members.

We are nipping back to the UK again next Christmas but that will be the last time we do that for a while as I am getting a bit fed up of missing Summer and experiencing the UK Winters. We decided it was worth doing whilst George was still free on the flight. Mum is coming out and then I will travel back with her and two children......Ivor will follow a couple of weeks later (what a jammy flight he'll have!)

I have also just finished the first unit of a uni course (Auditory-Verbal Therapy) which I am doing through a distance learning course at the University of Newcastle, Australia. You have to do 4 units but I have deferred the next one, until after the baby is born. I have really enjoyed doing it, though sadly, it doesn't seem to make any difference with the Department of Education here.......whether you are qualified or not, never mind if you have additional qualifications ! That's especially the case at the moment as there are big cut-backs.

George continues to grow and has hit 'The mighty toddlerhood'. He is cute but very hard work and into everything. I am sure life will be twice as difficult shortly.

We have got out for a few bush walks which have been good.

I went to Melbourne just with George a couple of weeks ago and stayed with the 'Jones's'. Sharon and I went shopping at the outlet stores and I got masses of stuff for George which I am very pleased about. George was fortunately good on the flight (both ways) and played 'Peekaboo' with the person behind.

My sister arrives on Tuesday for nearly 5 weeks which will be fantastic. I have just about got the room ready. The holidays began this week for a couple of weeks, though I have also got a few days leave at the end of the hols.

Weather not too bad for late Autumn....................






Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



30th May 2009

Congratulations :0)
Hi Sarah ... the house is fantastic - I can't believe how big they are our here - we are very lucky! Congrats for the little girl and George is so cute and is looking very grown up. We have been talking about coming out to see you as would love to see Tas. Love Jo x

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb