The Rellys are here!!!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Tasmania » Hobart
November 24th 2006
Published: November 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

At long last I have met my little nephew!!! I met them at the airport - lunchtime. A very bedraggled "Janet and John" (always have to have a giggle at that !!!!) turned up in the arrivals lounge with a very alert Josh - bright eyed and bushy tailed.
I drove them all to our little house in the mountains and they did manage to last a few hours before tiredness overcame them and they piled off to bed. They had had a good journey and Josh had slept - but it is long enough to kill off the most travel-keen of people!!!!
The following few days were pretty much spent with them re-cuperating, though we did manage a few walks on the Pipeline Track near our house - including one up to Silver Falls - a pretty little waterfall which is about a 30 minute round trip from the house. We also had a quick trip to the Tavern where I introduced them to our friends and we had a game of Pool. (obligatory for anyone who visits us!!)
School have been excellent - and I have managed to grab the odd hour here and there to catch up with them.
One evening - Ivor and John went off for a walk towards the pinnacle of Mount Wellington. It doesn't get dark until about 9pm so they had plenty of time to go for a walk. Janet and I had a sisterly hour or two, looking after Josh !
Television here is awful - absolutely apalling !!! - so we haven't watched that much. Janet however managed to find a programme " Most Haunted"(the only good TV is imported from Britain) - I have never seen it before but sat and watched it with sis and co, as she is apparently a fan. By the end of it, I was hiding behind the settee and refusing to ever stay in this creaky log cabin of ours on my own!!!
Last weekend we went to Port Arthur (again!!- we knew those member cards would be useful) As Ivor and I went recently with Sharon and Marcus, we looked after Joshua. I had forgotten how much my big sister loves museums and all that ...................she was hours and hours reading everything!!! Now I love a bit of history ( I was a history teacher after all!) but spending hours reading everything has never really been me!!! Nevertheless, we had a good time and Ivor even managed to do his "tour- guide bit" and took them to the Tessellated Pavement and the blow holes!!!!!
Last night we all went out for a meal with my collegues to an Indian. Josh was really really tired as he had not managed to have a sleep - but bless his cotton-socks- he didn't really cry at all in the restaurant. He fell asleep whilst I was trying to feed him which was quite amusing- maybe a comment on my company!!!!!
Managed to have a great tea(dinner if you are a Southerner) on our decking- just about warm enough here on the mountainside. We had a fantastic salad made by John and then we sat watching the cheeky Currawongs and drinking wine until it was too cold we had to sit inside!!
I have run home from school this week(14km - about 8 miles- uphill) - Janet and John have been using our car so I have used the opportunity to run as much as possible. I thought running from school would be a good idea- it was stinking hot, I had winter running gear - no sunscreen - no hat or sunglasses, I nearly died!!!- managed it though!!!!!!
This weekend - we are planning Christmas Dinner (as we won't be in the UK!!!) and a trip to Maria Island ......................to be continued!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0822s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb