Day 5


Advertisement
Published: June 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today was the first major challenge of this journey ..

Last night I hung on hour by hour waiting for the tent to be launched into orbit. Knocking down camp in heavy rain at 7am wasn’t the most pleasant task I have undertaken, not to say the tent is no getting that heavy that the gas struts can’t keep the lid open.

Took on fuel early this morning at a remote roadhouse, and felt I had arrived at a scene from Dr Who ... the guy behind the counter obviously doesn’t get out much !!

Driving rain and narrow roads made the 550 plus kms covered today to arrive in Port Augusta a challenge, but that was nothing compared to the sting in the tail to finish today.

I saw a storm brewing after leaving Port Augusta ( even thinking that I should have booked into a motel in town), but wanted to get closer to the NSW border and Broken Hill, I pushed ( literally) over the Flinders Ranges .. in a three hour period I became drowned out in a floodway, had a mm miss with a Roadtrain whos’ third trailer hit standing water, and waist deep camp sites, only to push through to Peterbrough and the warmth of the Motor Inn .. hot shower, booked Breakfast, a glass of chady ( of course) and a dry bed .... gotta love this adventure .. I am sure it will get better !!

Tips for the day : wash your t-shirt and shorts whilst having a shower, then stick a coat hanger in the aircond unit and the hot air dries them in no time !! who needs a launderette

Also got to talk to Mia and Grant in Port Augusta, the first time since setting out and 3000 kms .. I do miss my guys ....

BTW Gazza I am loving the Flip camera, just got to get into the swing of using it more ....

Advertisement



9th June 2009

Chin up!
Everyone thinking of you, keep going - the stars come out when it is darkest!!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb