Another crappy day


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland
May 30th 2006
Published: May 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, since my last entry a lot has changed. I've been working a week at 'Home Hill', a typical outback Queensland town - wide streets, loads of pubs with 'XXXX' and traffic consisting mostly of 4x4's and Utes.
Today has not been good... in fact, these last two weeks have been one of the worst in my travels. Dwindling funds, stress in finding work and accommodation, no white sand beaches or turquoise seas to swim in...
For instance, I checked out of 'Commercial Hotel' today because of the lack of work and because Home Hill isn't much of a place to spend a whole day. It took 15 mins to find a phone which actually worked, then I waited a further 30 mins for the Greyhound bus. I missed it, simply because there was a side road behind the Comfort Stop where it pulled in... and I was waiting by the main road. So i've got a 2.30 hour wait before the Premier coach gets here.
My plan is to go to Bowen, find some work - but more importantly, go swimming!
Its unbelievable how 90% of the hostels i've phoned are fully booked.... the best deal i've found is a $160/week twin room with possible work - or $155/week dorm room with a waiting period of 1 week before getting work.

Compared to Western Australia, Queensland is pretty dissapointing. I suppose there is the Great Barrier Reef, humid rainforests and the Whitsunday Islands - but all this costs money. And in high season its bloody impossible to earn any. Anyway. Maybe lady luck will smile on me in future days - one thing i've learnt is the 'law of contrast'. When you have one bad day it takes very little to make the next day good - just as the faintest bit of white shows up in pitch black, but is hardly visible if there is light.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb