Outback in Cloncurry


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland
November 10th 2010
Published: November 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After riding a bull, driving a tractor, cutting timber, using a chainsaw, running with a horse, watching a vetenarian put his arm in the horses butt to exam if pregnant, mustering cattle on foot, 5-6 horses having sex and watching the pain a Stallion horse went through while his nuts were cut out with no numbing shot= absolute buck wild experience.

Yes, that is repetitive information, but for those who haven't caught up it's the first time. So here I am in the outback which completely means about 4 pubs, 3 restaurants, 2 retail stores, 2 grocery stores, 2 banks, library, public pool and a bookstore.

I'm working at a Roadhouse until X-mas. All the truckers come by for as they call to get a feed. There's many meat options rump, rib fillet, pork chops, lamb chops, chicken snitzel, burgers, chips (fries) and hot box food (fried food that sits under a lamp) hence "hot box." I'm not proud to say I work hear and cooking for the restaurant, it's nothing fancy, reminds me of my first job at Philadelphia Connection making hoagies and Philly cheesesteaks. The money and experience is worth it. I get paid weekly and accommodations and car is given to me. I drive into town whenever. On my free time, I go to the gym and train the owner, read read read, watch documentaries, movies and tv shows that EJ and I downloaded.

Speaking of documentaries, what do you think about the world running out of water in 20 years and oil in 50. If you plan on having kids, are you prepared to live simply, have your own garden in your backyard. EJ and I would like to learn more about sustainability and hopefully soon do WOOFing which is working on an organic farm voluntarily. Accommodations and food are provided. It's more educational then working on a farm. If we were to work on a farm they would give us the odd jobs like pulling weeds b/c we are only there for temporary as we change jobs every 3-6mths. The plan is to complete the Roadhouse job, maybe WOOF or go to Darwin a rebuilt city since the 1970's and hopefully work on a tropical island. I didn't know Australia had many islands other than Tasmania.

I've made friends with the owners. Debbie, Trisha and Suzy the twins are all business owners. Trisha owns the Inn next door as Suzy has a gym/ salon. I got a lovely pedicure to bring the city girl back in me. I admire their entrepeneurship. I'm not going to lie, I need a break from this small town so Suzy and I are going out of town one hour away to Mount Isa. More population, shops, cinema, shopping etc. Cloncurry is lacking in everything.

Check out my photos on FB. Miss you all =)


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0286s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb