Oz= Australia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
September 26th 2010
Published: September 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hey Mates,

It's been 3 days since our arrival. As some of you know, E.J. (my boyfriend) and I are traveling, working and living throughout Australia, Oz for short. Brisbane is our first location as we are currently couch surfing, it's basically staying with someone that's willing to host for free. Pretty sweet, cheap, easy and the best way to explore is with a local. Check out couchsurfing.org if you fancy traveling on a low budget. More for your buck. My first experience was in South Korea, so far so good. After our first host in the city CBD area of Brisbane we'll be heading to the suburbs of Brisbane. Following our 5 day training that includes, learning how to drive tractors, ATV's, using a chainsaw for fencing and many more farm-work skills. However, doing the masculine, hard labor isn't mandatory just the training, so no worries my mates. I may only be getting dirty through gardening. I'll settle for simply riding a horse, feeding the koalas, baby animals, helping the farmers wife do household work or perhaps teach the country kids for school. I'll keep you posted when I get my hands on something.

In the meantime, here's
CoinsCoinsCoins

smallest are worth more
some Aussie slang for ya to take the piss (joke with you)

"There's a steak in every stubby" A stubby is a bottle of beer and when you drink it's as though you ate.

"Stubbies" a pair of shorts

"Lemonade" Sprite

"Cashed up Bogan" A rich redneck

"Fly's eyes" A guy's nut sack

" Septic tanks" Americans

Not only did the convicts bring the slang, but also James Squire became known for his beer so if you ever get a chance James Squire I.P.A. is a good choice or Fat Yak. There lingo is just all shits and giggles with some metaphor so it's not so cruel.

The location we are at is Teneriffe near the Brisbane river, it's a nice walk in the morning and a bit of breeze. As of now it's Spring time so for me it's a bit chilly and I need a thin sweatshirt. Transportation is easy and convenient, a day pass is valid for the ferry, bus or train. It's worth a day pass as it's $7 and one way trips are $3.

I'm limited for time to blog everything b/c I'm at a cafe using wifi, this will have to do for now. I'll post my address and snail mail will have to do until I figure out a better arrangement.

Take care and live as though there's NO WORRIES.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Fish n' ChipsFish n' Chips
Fish n' Chips

EJ freshly picked the fish, he said it was tasty.


27th September 2010

Glad to see you're having a fun time exploring the amazing land of Oz, and you get to share it with the bf. Can't wait to see pictures and read about more great adventures. The lingo is hilarious! I like the "septic tanks" one. Be safe sis!

Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb