<3 You=Yoga <3


Advertisement
Asia
July 8th 2010
Published: July 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Have you ever felt lost, confused or asked "Who am I?" In this day and age, life is more complex, out of control, over the top, and out of this world, we start melting away into society, money and selfishness.

Being in Korea is challenging me more than ever before. This is the first time living away the longest and a country that is completely different than any other that I've traveled to, so far. What set my ground and sanity is Yoga. Thanks to Ron, my instructor, has taught me the philosophy, history, tradition and foundation of true Yoga.

Literally, every weekend I was drinking my sorrows away or simply the way to release. During the week, I wouldn't see any foreigners, have my social networks, working with all Koreans and completely isolated, don't even have a co-teacher. Therefore, when weekends came, I took full advantage to dancing, drinking, socializing, dating and doing the most I can until it was over and back to 9-5p, seat warming, and wild rugrats.

Since February, I made a 180, I chose not to go out on Fridays so I can have energy and focus into the 7 hour class for Yoga. When class was over, I felt like relaxing and still not wanting to go out. Ron had mentioned that several students that joined his course started out partying and now satisfied with reading a book. He was exactly right. I love reading, don't get me wrong, but as you all know me I love going big or go home, hence why I'm in Korea.

Not only is Yoga a physical, mental and spirtual practice but most of all "The Science of Life" it's about being and maintaining HARMONY. This is my main struggle, having tons of energy and crashing hard. For the first time, I'm feeling what some people may say is normal, at least that's what it looks like. Here and there, I have my ups and downs of energy but I'm learning to control it. Significantly, if you know you have an imbalance whether it's eating too much, sleeping less, working out more etc, recognize it and learn to control it. Yoga is helping me center myself to realize more about me and what I need to improve on.

If you're living in Korea and interested in Yoga whether it's for yourself or teaching, I highly recommend Magic Pond Yoga at World Gym near Yeouinaru Station. It's taught in English and certifies you to be an international instructor. Killing two birds with one stone, assah!

http://www.magicpond.co.kr/en/

So it's official, I completed the course and received my certification. I will start teaching Yoga to children age 7-13. Looking forward to developing my practice and promoting a WAY OF LIFE with YOGA because it's all about YOU!

*The pictures are labeled with simple names not sanskrit.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



8th July 2010

CONGRATULATIONS! YOU DID IT!!
Jenna, I'm so excited for you to have completed your YOGA courses. I believe it will be a great way to stay focused, calm, and healthy in mind and spirit. Can't wait to go with you or instruct me in one of your classes. Congratulations again on this exciting way of life... Love, MOM
8th July 2010

Thats awsome babygirl! I am so proud of you and I was thinking about getting into yoga. =) Love u
9th July 2010

Congratulations
Wow you are doing great Jennifer. Although we miss you, I see how much you have learned to see other things in life. We will see you next year, you haven't missed much here. Learning everything you have all on your own is the greatest experience . You have learned more than you know being on your own and meeting many people from all over the world (learning the different cultures, food, and enjoying all of it). I have enjoyed reading everything you are doing. Keep up the great work and we will see you again soon before you know it. Love you and lots of hugs and kisses. Auntie Mary Ann

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb