Yay no more banana sorting in Innisfail!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland
November 22nd 2007
Published: November 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Surviving Innisfail...just! Lol. Finished work today, and even on my final day I got told I was basically rubbish at washing bananas! I mean, how hard can that be? But oh yes, apparently I let all the bad bananas through and throw out the good ones...haha!

Actually, although the job is horrible, the people are nice and I've had a good laugh over the last few days.

We have seen a lot of spiders come through on the conveyor belt...

The funniest was when somebody comes up to tell us they just missed getting a rat....so it's somehow floating in the water towards us...eek....feeling brave I grabbed it (teeny hairless baby rat) and threw it in a bin! Aghhhh I was wearing gloves, so no lepto for me!

Glad I have finished work now...and have managed to get myself a hostel for xmas and NY...YES!!! Not the same one as Heather and Simone, but close enough, and not like the boys have even booked anything yet!!!

The hostel we are staying in is called Budget Backpackers...SO run down but the people are fantastic - great atmosphere and lots of Irish people! You wander outside at any time for a cigarette and everyone will sit and chat....it's a good laugh.

Not much other goss at the moment. It's been work work work and the highlight of our days has been going to Coles, IGA or Woolworths (it's a supermarket here, not like in the UK!) to get food.

I managed to find a Snickers bar for 68 cents yesterday - GO ME!!!

It's been raining for the past few weeks, and miserable. The sun has come out the last few days which is nice!

On Saturday, the boys (minus Darren who has to get the stitches out of his face - banana cutting accident, don't ask!) are leaving for Mission Beach. Us girls and Darren are staying in the Motel for a little bit of luxury after a hard fortnight! We'll jump on the bus on Monday and get the boys on the way, and we're off to Townsville, to Magnetic Island. Yay! Not sure even what Magnetic Island is, but sounds ok. From there on, we'll be doing Fraser Island and sailing around the Whitsundays.

Will update soon!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0705s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb