Trapped at Dougie's


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Port Douglas
July 17th 2006
Published: July 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The GorgeThe GorgeThe Gorge

The current's stronger than it looks!
Have spent the last 2 weeks at Dougie's Resort in Port Douglas. Getting trapped at Dougie's is a common problem as no-one who stays for longer than a few days seems to be able to get away from the place. So I have decided I have to make my break for freedom and will be heading on on Wednesday. Have had a fantastic couple of weeks and made some good friends so I will be sad to leave, but at the same time, the longer I spend here, the less time I will spend in the rest of Oz.

Since my last entry I have got a job working as a kitchen hand in a place called Cactus Bar. So now I'm an expert dishwasher and I make a mean pizza! So have been dividing my time between there and the bar at the hostel. Probably drunk a bit too much beer - another good reason to leave. In fact I have to pay my tab before I leave, which I'm not looking forward to.

Other than that, we took a trip to Mossman Gorge last week. Its basically a rainforest with a couple of clearings where you can
After the swimAfter the swimAfter the swim

From left to right: Moi, Lucas, John, Steve
chill out alongside the river which flows through the area. The water looked pretty good so we had a swim, though the current was stronger than expected so me and Steve nearly ended up being swept away! Luckily we managed to cling for life onto a nearby rock before finally getting the strength up to swim for our lives back to shore. All the time, John and Lucas were pissing themselves laughing at us! All good fun!

The weather has taken a dip for the worse in the last week, so we haven't really been up to too much else except for mingling at the bar and playing pool. Not much to do when the weather is bad and the day trips are pretty pricey. But we're off to do some whitewater rafting tomorrow, which should be pretty good fun.

My next stop will be in Townsville for a night or two before heading down to Airlie Beach to do the Whitsundays and from there I will be snorkelling (maybe diving, depending on price) the Great Barrier Reef. Can't wait.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

FishingFishing
Fishing

Spent a few hours fishing at the marina in Port Douglas. Four of us and we never caught a thing! This is John and Joe.
On the popOn the pop
On the pop

Me and Trevor in Fluid nightclub. Slightly worse for wear!


26th July 2006

contact me gareth alana

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0216s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb