Diving


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Port Douglas
June 6th 2010
Published: July 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So today I finally qualified as an Open Water Diver. It means I can dive to 18 metres and don't need an instructor with me. It seemed like it took ages to finish, because I did it over a month or so when I wasn't at work. There were exams and skills to do in the pool first and then on the reef, which you had to do to show the instructor you could do on your own. Things like removing water from your mask underwater, or removing your mask altogether and then putting it back on again underwater, and being able to get air from your dive buddy if you air supply stops for some reason. I've been out once since I qualified and was paired with a stranger because you need to dive with a buddy for safety. It was ok but a bit strange since I didn't know him at all and technically my life now was in his hands. Same went for him though - luckily nothing happened and it was all good. So now I'm free to dive whenever I want - yay!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1013.9kb