Sailaway Trip to Low Isles


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Port Douglas
June 16th 2010
Published: July 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So today I went on a free trip to Low Isles with Sailaway. The Low Isles are only about 30-45 minutes out of Port Douglas, and all the boats going to the outer Great Barrier Reef pass them every day. Sailaway is an amazing 5 star luxuary catamaran which sails out daily so you can hang out on the beach and go snorkling for the day. Its a great option for those with small children who can't keep the kids on a boat all day, or people who want to snorkle but aren't sure about the deep water at the outer reef (because you can snorkle off the beach here). It was a lovely windy day so we were moving pretty quick, and I sat up on the top with the skipper the whole way there and back (and watched everyone else get wet on the way home while staying nice and dry in the best position on the boat). I had a lovely day on the beach, and spent a lot of time snorklling. You are almost guaranteed to see turtles here and I spent about 20 minutes hanging out with one watching it eat and swim - all by myself with a sea turtle - it was amazing. I also got followed for ages by a huge bat fish, which scared the crap outta me when it first appeared. It was about a metre round and it was watching me while I was watching it and the turtle. Was a little freaky because it keep getting really close and I could see its eye moving to follow me around. Freaked me out a bit because I was the only one in the water. I also saw an octopus which was pretty cool.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb