Australian Journey 1987


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Normanton
June 7th 1987
Published: August 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

NT into QLD and Normanton


June 7, Sunday.
Left Berkeley Homestead this morning after watching a fantastic sunrise. East along the Barkly Highway the countryside is very much like what I saw yesterday. Crossed into Queensland, which comes to the grand total of four states, one territory since beginning of May.
Spent the day driving and designing a trailer and a business name. The scenery only gets better around Mount Isa. Which is where I picked up two German girls and took them to Cloncurry. Campsite is okay, it’s not fantastic but anywhere I put my tent up is where I call home.
Good evening talking with locals at the pub then returned back to the caravan park where I caught with the two German girls; we were staying at the same park. Now this is the life.

June 8, Monday.
Although the trip up to Normanton wasn’t very scenic it held more interest then the countryside I had been seeing for the last few day because this time I was travelling in the same footsteps as Burke & Wills. Yes, I had finally got back onto their track across the country. There was one interesting rocky outcrop but in general it was flat and only grassland could be seen.
Made Normanton in good time. Had a shower and did more washing. Planning to stay for two nights, more to see here then I thought. Got some tucker into me, then across to the Purple Pub. Played pool, more drinking and staggered back to the caravan park and good nights sleep. Nice quiet town.

June 9, Tuesday.
I headed off to the Gulf of Carpentary. Spent the day photographing the Norman River, the township of Karumba and its fishing port. It was late afternoon when I found the town’s pub where I met some travellers and spent until sunset with these two blokes drinking and talking, as usual about where to go, where we have been and what a great area this is.
Drove the 67 kilometres back to Normanton in the dark. I catch the train to Croydon tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 90; dbt: 0.0874s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb