Australian Journey 1987


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Katherine
June 5th 1987
Published: August 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Edith Falls - Barkley Tablelands


June 5, Friday.
Did the Katherine Gorge boat trip and was pleased I made the effort. It is such a popular tourist destination, which for me was spilt by too many people. The next time I do this area I will do the walks. Up to this point I hadn’t seen any kangaroos in the “top end” but two appeared in front of me this morning. Had some tough water buffalo meat for dinner tonight. My petrol cap wouldn’t come off when I stopped for fuel; a new one fixed the problem. Spent time drinking at the Larrimah Pub, very interesting owners, we talked for ages. Got to Daley Waters Pub had tea, pitched the tent and had the first hot shower for some time. A good meal at the pub then retired to the bar where I met a girl from Israel. We talked for most of the evening even though her English wasn’t the best. It turned out to be a great night!

June 6, Saturday.
The Jewish girl was heading north and I was heading east towards Queensland and we went our separate ways. This morning left town around 8:30 to do the Carpenterary and Barkly Highways. These pass through the black soil Barkley Tablelands. If the word “tablelands” ever had a more fitting meaning it does in this part of Australia. On one part of the trip, all that can be seen through the windscreen is grass plains. I stopped the car just to take in the atmosphere, flat landscape to the horizon in every direction. The last 250 kilometres of the 650-kilometre trip is the flattest. I have spent most of the drive talking to myself making up stupid songs just to keep awake. Near Cape Crawford there is a small escarpment but that soon disappears to leave kilometre after kilometre of low scrub plains. I could have done with some company today. Weather is good.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.223s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 89; dbt: 0.1067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb