Australian Journey 1987


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory
June 1st 1987
Published: August 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Kakadu - Edith Falls


June 1, Monday.
This morning I decided to head down to Pine Creek. I stopped for petrol at Cooinda but had to wait an hour before the power came on to make the pump work. I also managed to get a chance to say goodbye to Linda again. The East Alligator River crossing was made without any problems but at the next river crossing I had to help a vehicle that got stuck. The drive to UDP Falls was past more escarpments. Done some filming along the way especially when I saw a water buffalo. I will be spending a few days and nights at this fantastic spot with the strange name of UDP Falls.

June 2, Tuesday
This morning I went for a walk to the top of the falls. From the ridge I got a fantastic view of the surrounding countryside. Some great shots with the video and still cameras were recorded. Saw a monitor lizard. Managed to do some washing today, which will keep me going until the next stop.
I have just returned from climbing UDP Falls again, this time to catch the sunset it was great being up there all alone. Finished another 3-hour video. Both the video batteries are now exhausted; they will have to be charged while I’m driving along. Another relaxing day spent at UDP Falls.

June 3, Wednesday.
I was woken last night by grunting outside of my tent, before I could put my glasses on; a dark mass of the animal ran in front of the tent, blocking out the moonlight. The only thing that big in this area is a water buffalo. I’m glad he had good eyesight because if he had trampled on my tent he would have made a mess of me. Around 70 kilometres of dirt tracks take you into Pine Creek. Only one scare, when I nearly run into a road grader on a bend. I don’t know how many more magic spots are left on this trip but Edith Falls is another spot I would like to return to in the future. The rock pools leading to the top of the falls are amazing. Once again I’ll be staying over-night.

June 4, Thursday.
Two hour walk this morning viewing the pools above Edith Falls. Back to camp for something to eat, a shower then relaxed before taking another walk along the creek that runs from the base of the falls. First time in four days I have washed my hair it was like straw. Spent this evening with people I met during the day. Run out of nearly all supplies and need to restock in Katherine.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.1423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb