Australian Journey 1987


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Croydon
June 10th 1987
Published: August 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Gulflander Railway


GulflanderGulflanderGulflander

Waiting at the station in Normanton.
June 10, Wednesday.
Today in the only day of the week the Gulflander leaves Normanton for Croydon. It takes about five hours to travel the 159 kilometres.
Actually I sat where the driver sits and had the video on me while he told me what the controls were.
The train driver stopped the train and let us film it as it crossed a small bridge. We had another stop that day and that was at a siding called “Blackbull” after the local homestead. The station kids were waiting with drinks and cookies they had made for the tourist on board. For a modest fee we ate and drank.
Not much in Croydon, a few shops' of interest and of course the Club Hotel. At the end of the day when my video batteries ran out I ordered a meal at the pub then spent the rest of the evening with fellow travellers.
I couldn’t afford a room to stay overnight at the pub so I took my tent around the corner to the caravan park where I was the only customer and attempted to get some sleep.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

GulflanderGulflander
Gulflander

The train driver stopped and let the passangers get a shot as the train crossed the low bridge.
GulflanderGulflander
Gulflander

Waiting at the station in Croydon.


Tot: 0.272s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 95; dbt: 0.1252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb