Australian Journey 1987


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland
June 11th 1987
Published: August 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Road to Burketown


GulflanderGulflanderGulflander

Waiting for the train to depart Croydon.
June 11, Thursday.
Spent the night doing death rolls, just like a crocodile, couldn’t get comfortable, the towns power stations’ generator kept me awake. Dawn broke, got up, packed my swag and headed down to the station. The train stays overnight and heads back the next day. Did some filming on the way back to Normanton; the driver stopped the train just to show us points of interest. An abandoned gold mine and close by an old a Bower Birds’ nest. Climbed aboard the second carriage after the stop and made myself comfortable. Mostly lazed on the seats and slept.
At Normanton I threw out the bacon and bread; gone mouldy. Went shopping for more supplies including petrol. Sent another six rolls of transparency’s home by mail. Back at the caravan park I put the tent up and calculated what I had spent in the last four days. Recharged the video batteries. Then walked up the street to check out the three pubs in Normanton.

June 12, Friday.
This morning I decided it was time to put on new rear tyres. Had trouble using the “bull bag” which had a slow leak and would not lift the axle long enough to swap the wheels. With the help of a passer-by we managed to change them in the end. Headed out to Burketown but before leaving I drove down a dirt track to visit one of Burke & Wills camps (camp 119). Their last one before they returned south to finish their journey.
For me, west was the direction and the track was all dirt. My concentration was intense because I had to keep an eye out for the free ranging cattle. Hit some fairly bad spots but mostly the Great Northern Highway (name only) was in good condition.
Arrived at Burketown around 5:00. I think I’ll head to the pub. AGAIN! The Albert Pub had a great meal for $4 with as much meat as you could put onto your plate (the plates were huge). Noticed out of the pub window the most impressive sunset I have ever seen. Passed a comment to the people I was drinking with, about the camera not being with me. They had been on the track for weeks and said the sunsets are nearly always impressive. You just can’t help meeting interesting people up here.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 90; dbt: 0.1052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb