Krombit Cattle Station


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Kroombit
September 20th 2008
Published: October 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Krombit Cattle Station!!!

Ok first things first. Staying at a cattle ranch was not my idea. As part of the Oz Experience there are a couple of compulsory stops that we had to do because the drive from one place to another was so long it needed to be broken up for the driver's sake.

Secondly - after a quick toilet stop our bus driver Dain managed to leave one of the girls on our bus behind - nice one!

We signed up to do some horse riding - which involved herding up a load of goats in a field whilst on horse back. Pretty cool I have to admit. Me and Cassy (my horse who was also white and blond) did a pretty good job - even if I do say so myself!
Later we were taught how to lasso a goat - well I say taught - were shown how it was done and we all stood there like idiots trying to copy. I was not at all successful I have to admit. We played a game where by we had to lasso a goat and pretend to brand it. Hilarious!!

Drew our ranger then got us to stand in a circle and hold hands. we then played a different type of spin the bottle. Whoever the bottle landed on had to hold a cattle prod... That was me and Sophie. So we all stood holding hand. But rather than hold Sophie's hand I held the cattle prod. The next thing I know 11,000 volts were sent right up my right hand, through my body and then out my left hand. The 11,000 volts were split across the whole group making it non lethal - but still my arms were shaking for the remainder of the day.

Roast dinner! Get in.

After dinner we all took turns to try and crack a whip. The noise that the whip makes comes from its movement through the air as a posed to when it hits the ground. Now this was something that I was actually good at. I was the first person to get it first time round. I must have been a lion tamer in a previous life time ha ha ha.

The night closed with people having a go on the bucking bronko and then some games.

I really enjoyed the cattle ranch and once again did consider jacking everything in and volunteering to work onthe ranch and hear goats for the rest of my life... but I decided to continue up the East Coast 😊



Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb