Tour of Booty: Losing My Virginity


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Ipswich
January 29th 2004
Published: January 29th 2004
Edit Blog Post

RobbieRobbieRobbie

The Special guest on the Tour of Booty!
I’d like to tell you about the day I lost my virginity. In fact, it was today.

You know, I’ve never been on a plane before! Never ever in my whole life. There was this one time when I was 10, I was on a pretend plane for trainee airhostesses with silly paintings of the land from high in the sky where the windows are supposed to be. Not this time.

I nodded to a lady next to me and told her today was my first plane trip ever.
“Well I hope you brought your parachute!”
I had this really obscene look on my face as members of the NSW cricket team walked past.

There is this spot from where I watch planes take off and land sometimes, close to the airport. It’s a really nice spot and if you can get there it’s a really nice place to think about things. The airport looked very different as we taxied around before finally getting onto the Third Runway. I was thinking that the take off would be a gradual building up of speed…

Each word of the phrase, “Well I hope you brought your parachute!” was re-enacting the Demolition Derby in my head as the plane took off. Wow, I’ve never been on something that is just about a vertical climb full of thrust (I bet my guts were in the seat behind me) and as the plane took off over Botany Bay, there was a steep turn to the left (still climbing mind you!). Sydney looked so glamorous-Sydney Harbour glistening in the sun’s rays, gees we got up to Berowra in ten minutes (!) and as we kept on climbing, climbing above the clouds, we reached speeds of up to 790km/h! (relative to land, but hell I’ve never even gone this fast-let alone been in a plane!!!!).

The descent was, just as awesome, even though it was a little rough when the Boeing 727 touched down. I wasn’t really sure, wasn’t really caring if these were the same towns that we passed through on our epic 14 hour train trip, but suddenly, the clocks had to turn an hour back and hey-I wasn’t sure if the plane landing should be what is usually to be expected-but I made it!

“WELCOME TO QUEENSLAND!!!”
Jesska, via SMS.

I could not believe how humid it was! The downside of such rapid travel was that I’d have to spend the next 5 hours acclimatising myself to Brisbane’s humidity. Five hours of blowing my nose and hoping that it would get better soon but I would be blowing it all night. The itinerary was different this time around but first stop was with the Ipswich girls who showed use the most best hospitality, even if we were only there for one night!

In a year, a lot has changed. The Star Tavern closed down (no!), Bec’s car had been nicked and “burnt to a crisp” as Gina put it and Gina-she’s STILL at the bakery! Not much had changed for us either. I was going to be doing Ipswich with Robbie-yes you read right!! What would a trip north be without one of the bestest travel partner ever! He’s done LUYD and NE so he had to be in on the “Tour of Booty”-even if he had to take half of today off to drive up here and be in Ippy by 9.30pm! Although it was the biggest anti-climax ever when I blurted out that he was coming! There was a lot to catch up on, as we were to be leaving on Saturday, when Bec was going to have her massive uni farewell party at the same time that Libby L. was supposed to be having her own farewell party! It was great to be back…

K’s: Sydney-Brisbane: 750KM
Airport-Booval: 51.4KM
Running Total: 801.43KM

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb