The land of OZ


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Hervey Bay
July 14th 2008
Published: July 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wowsers, has a lot been going on since I last tapped on a keyboard. So we boarded the "Pacific Star" from Airlie beach and hit the high seas. We visited the most gorgeous white sand beach, aplty named 'Whitehaven' before hitting some great snorkel beaches and doing our first dive ever. Now I have never seen coral or crazy fish before, so this few minutes underwater blew me away... and then we hit the reef. We sailed out on our little catamaran to 'Bait reef' to a place called the stepping stones. I woke up on my bday morning to a stunning sunrise and tossed on my suit. We chilled for a bit, watching the whales cruise past, then we went for another dive. This one was way cooler and longer and nealy blew me out of the water. Denny and I were talking about getting certified, but will everything suck after seeing what we did? So we tanned on the deck for the afternoon, watching more whales play in the warm waters around the reef. What a great day. We spent another couple of days cruising the Whitsundays, then they kicked us off and told us that our time was up. D'oh. So we hopped back in our little home on wheels and headed South. We stopped next at the town of 1770, which is not a little, quaint historic village, but another fabulous hippy-lovin beach town. We sunned there, and then today cruised to Bundaberg for a fill of rum and now to Hervey Bay. We did more beach monitoring and tomorrow we'll be heading over to Fraser Island, which is the entirely made of sand. I think that it's going to be fantastic again. We're back in Sydney on Sat, then maybe to see the Pope on Sunday... I know, weird, but who can say that they've seen the Pope?

Love J and D

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb