Bingo Dingo


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Fraser Island
February 1st 2006
Published: February 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Fraser Island GangThe Fraser Island GangThe Fraser Island Gang

Back row (l to r): Remy (Fr), Cedric (Fr), Claire (Fr), Me (GBR), Lucas (Swi), Knut (Swe) Front row (l to r): Laurence (Fr), Cosi (Ger), Johnny (Ire), Matthias (Swe)
I have now acquired a true traveller's patina of grime and sweat and sand. You'll also be glad to know that my feet, previously covered up every summer by rowing shoes, are now the brownest they have ever been (or it could be the dirt, I suppose).

I don't know if my clothes will ever smell clean again after returning from Fraser Island - imagine baking hot sands, sweaty journeys in 4 wheel drive vans and no showers...nice. (Orla, are you sure you still want to meet me in Sydney?!)

However, it was a great experience camping out on the world's largest sand island and taking my morning bath in freshwater dune lakes: Lake McKensie has to be closest thing to heaven on Earth - wide stretches of bright white sand, with clear blue water gently lapping the shore; Lake Wabby on the other hand is accessed via a massive, steep sand dune that plunges into the green waters filled with fish and turtles. Indian Head is a lookout point on the east side of the island and a good spot to see dolphins, sharks, manta rays and all manner of sea creatures. Unluckily we called when all the
Rush hourRush hourRush hour

The M25 was busy this morning
sea creatures were out for afternoon tea. We also travelled inland to Central Station (named due to the railway station previously being the hub of the now defunct logging industry) and walked through rainforest.

The main way for travelling about the island is via the eastern beach at low tide (there are no sealed roads on the islands) - I had a go at driving on the sand and also on some inland tracks, which was great fun (although probably not for my passengers in the back).

I returned thoroughly exhausted and I am still finding sand in places that I don't want to have sand, but it is worth it if only for the memory of lying on the beach at 1 a.m. (OK, admittedly after having some "goon" or a "VB" or two from the "esky", having played some drinking games with my fellow campers) and looking up at a clear Australian night sky filled with infinite stars. Truly magical...

As if I hadn't had enough of camping, I am off tomorrow to canoe the Noosa Everglades for 3 days...don't worry, I won't cross to the dark side of canooeing; my heart will be forever rowing.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Lake WabbyLake Wabby
Lake Wabby

Taking another bath
Evil-eyed dingosEvil-eyed dingos
Evil-eyed dingos

Close to our camp on the first night


5th February 2006

More Wowowo!
Obviously your travelling companions got the measure of you and that`s why you had to have two baths ? ...again all fantabulous ..also love the artisitc bent you seem to have developed .... All our love xxxxx Us and Marms xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
6th February 2006

Seven sleeps.............
...............only seven sleeps to go now! I'm back in the office for my last week before my big holiday! Can't wait to see you - am v.v.v.excited! Sadly, am also v.v.v.disorganised! Starting the packing and realising that I've nothing I need - all still to do but I'm sure it'll work out just fine! See you soon - glad you're having such a cool time O xxx
8th February 2006

They'll never smell clean AGAIN..?
Hey Liz - had to let you know that Team Southey were laying down some particularly funky moves in Oxford last weekend! You should see how they behave when they're off the leash!! Glad you're having a great time. By the way, we're struggling for a stroke for the HOR. Fancy it? Px
9th February 2006

What's the date?
I'll see if I can get a flight. My white lard has now turned very brown, so I may stick out even more than last year... Liz "the man" Southey x p.s. Cant believe my parents were having a good time at CORC without me, tut tut.

Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 77; dbt: 0.1174s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb