Can I canoe you down the river


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Noosa Heads
February 6th 2006
Published: February 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

GoannaGoannaGoanna

At our campsite
I arrived in Noosa with all my washing from Fraser Island to do, so I duly went for a swim in the hostel pool, watched the wild kangaroos hopping about and decided to leave any domestic chores until the next day. Noosa Heads is a great waterside town in which to chill on the beach and hang out in the trendy restaurants/cafes (not that I went into those, given my unwashed state) or have some fun in the water. Having done quite a lot of the first already, I thought that some water-based activity might be more up my street, so I embarked on a little trip up the Everglades. Perhaps it was one campsite or National Park too many in quick succession, but I didn't enjoy this as much as the other trips I had done so far. It probably didn't help waking up in the tent at 5 am on the second morning with my sleeping bag floating in two inches of water, it having rained torrentially all night. Not one possession of mine remained dry, but I know that's the chance you take with camping!

Sure it was a beautiful and totally unspoilt place, but I now
Trees and riverTrees and riverTrees and river

The nickname for this are is "River of Mirrors" due to the tannin and peat making the water an impenetrable black and therefore reflective
realise that travel experiences (or any for that matter, I suppose) are also fundamentally shaped by any people with whom you may share the experience...let's just say I kept very quiet when my "no experience of any watersport/boatsteering whatsoever" companion barked constant commands to me on how to paddle a boat ;-) (She obviously knew I was terrible at it!) Despite this we did successfully complete a mammoth 12km canoe and 12km hike through forest up to the Cooloola sand patch where there were lovely views over the Everglades.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



13th February 2006

Last day at work...............
.............very excited as this is it! My last day at work! Technically, I'm only having a half day anyway as I'm so excited and annoying all my work colleagues! Hence, they are letting/making me leave early!! Flight is at 9:25pm tonight.....how cool?!?! Rucksack is all packed......only one pair of birks and some trainers! Hardly any clothes which, considering it's a three week holiday, is a most uncomfortable experience for me!! I'll be seeing you at the Lost Property bit (I'll be the lost looking one!) in Sydney Main Bus Station for breakfast on Friday morning! I'll be there from about 8am I reckon - see you whenever! Don't hurry - I've some great books to read! See you soon! Orla xxx

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 79; dbt: 0.076s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb