The tropics are here!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Coolangatta
January 23rd 2007
Published: January 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post


Jan 22
Departed for Brissy eventually after travelling around and around to hunt down our latest fancy, Cleopatra’s Cream - Oh my… this stuff is sooooo good!! At $6+ a small tub, this delicacy is having us feel extremely decadent but how can we not? When in Byron, must do as the Byronians! 

Jan 23
Tropical Fruit World - Coolangatta
Over 516 tropical fruits in a big playground for adults. From tractor to boat to train - All aboard! Fruit that tastes like sweet potato, over 50 varieties of mango, lychees, several varieties of bananas, avocados, mangosteen, a gazillion (well several hundred) fruit I’ve never heard of let alone remember how to spell or pronounce and then, the wondrous bean of the miracle fruit tree which alters your taste buds and has everything eaten with the next hour taste 10 times sweeter than actuality - it’s true!

Met the famous Piers & Sheryl from Raw Pleasure! A generous and gorgeous fresh salad dinner we shared by the beach of Coolangatta - thank you lovelies  My only regret being my lack of presence in the stimulating conversation as I was beginning to feel somewhat out of sorts and off colour…

From Coolangatta to Brisbane
And then it was my turn… Something was not right at all… Pull over! Pull over! NOOW! BLLLLLUUURGH… indeed. Whilst Luke’s weakness is his bowel/lower intestine, mine seems to be my oesophagus and upper intestine. Perhaps it’s also my slower metabolism that has me puke up three meals worth of regurgitated grossness despite not having eaten for a few hours. And it tasted pretty awful let me tell you; the sensation of a gullet full of mushed wrongness just doesn’t do it for me at all. Very wrong indeed.
So there it was 1.15am and after driving up many no through roads of a small locality, we eventually find a reasonably flat spot to park in a semi-residential area, to recuperate for the night. Or so we thought. For the next couple hours I continue up and down, expressing my full self in full frothy fluorescent pungentness. I am officially exhausted and in complete detox - but from what??
Not wanting to continue to disturb the neighbours we so thoughtfully parked in front of, we off and go again to find a spot more conveniently located near a toilet, just in case my situation worsens… three hours later and not being able to find a rest spot, we eventually give up and park in treed grounds of a church - at least we’ll be safe from the big bad demons }:-
1.44am - I am vomiting up Tropical Fruit World - yay.
7.44am - I am still vomiting up Tropical Fruit World., actually I am vomiting up tropical colours of guck from my liver - gotta love that bile. We ended up in Benleigh, looking for a public toilet after driving around for a couple of hours looking for somewhere should a mishap occur…. I would never have guessed a non capital city could be so busy at 8.30am. The fumes are absolutely putrifying. B t, we are on our way to Brisbane, shortly 

Beenleigh to Brisbane…
So straight to the haven home of my dear friend Mashenka - thank you thank you! Here we rested in the salvation of the air-conditioner god.

After an excess of twelve hours of hurling and wrenching my insides out, the pulverising feeling to my stomach and swimming sensation through my entire being began to slow… now just to face myself in the mirror with my exploded eyes - all that hurling caused the capillaries on my eyelids and under-eye bags to explode into spots all over - Morgan Freeman style Luke reckoned.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 15; qc: 78; dbt: 0.0786s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb