Cape Trib take 2: Wallaby Creek Festival


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cooktown
October 1st 2008
Published: October 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I was planning to leave the potatoes behind in Atherton 2 days ago, Monday. But last Tuesday we went into town for lunch to visit our friend who is the manager of a new hostel in Tolga, near Atherton. I met a girl there who was on her way to the Wallaby Creek Festival, which is held at that campsite I stayed at with the waterfall one night when I was last in Cape Trib...who's been faithfully following my blogs and remembering every word?
I heard about it a lot when I was in Cape Trib so I decided to go. It started on Friday, so I told the farmer I was leaving on Wednesday, had a great last night at the hostel and got the bus early on Thursday morning to Cairns. I made it up to Wallaby Creek by Thursday evening and got a ticket (luckily!). It was great to celebrate finishing work! There were lots of people I knew from Cape Trib and a few backpackers as always. I spent 3 days watching live music, looking round the stalls and climbing the waterfall- perfect! I didn't take many photos cos I was having too much fun and I had to be ready to jump in the lake/creek/waterfall or dance any time I was required to...yes, it was hard work. But there are some nice pics of the waterfall of course! And my camera is glad to still be alive.
On Monday morning I went to Cape Trib for a night and spent the day catching up with some people, doing my laundry and having a shower for the first time in *cough cough cough*. Yesterday, one of my friends was driving to Cairns in the evening so I spent the day at the beach and randomly met the girl I went to the festival with which was a nice surprise. And now I'm back in Cairns once again planning my next big adventure...
I have put up photos for the last few entries as well, so don't forget to check them out!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb