Waterfalls and many, many potatoes


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Atherton Tablelands
September 16th 2008
Published: September 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

From Cairns, I went inland to the Atherton Tablelands, highlands on the Great Dividing Range. It's a good place to get farm work and there's lots of other stuff I wanted to see here. On my first night, I stayed in a little town called Yungaburra, and the next morning I phoned some farmers, hoping to get a job in the next couple of weeks. Long story short, I ended up being picked up an hour later by the owner of a working hostel in Atherton and taken to a potato farm to start immediately. He took my bag to the hostel after dropping me off which was a bit worrying since I had only just met the guy, but I really hate looking for jobs so I took the risk! And this is where I've been for the last month. I've worked on 3 potato farms and a banana farm, where I was packing boxes; I quit on my 3rd day because apparently I would get fired for putting bananas in that were too big, putting bananas in that were too small, not making the box heavy enough, making the box too heavy, going to slow, going too fast, breathing, not breathing, etc etc and I didn't really care so I decided to save them the trouble. Which was a good decision because potatoes are much much better!
I've had a few days off to go exploring round the area- there's lots of volcanic crater lakes, waterfalls, national parks etc. Well I don't have much to say about that, it's a bit meaningless without photos...waterfalls are nice...so are lakes...so I hope I can put my photos up soon!
Interestingly, I'm the only English person at the hostel, and the only idiot who only speaks one language. Most people are German, Japanese or Korean. Good for me cos everyone's always cooking nice food and making me taste it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 60, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

The CraterThe Crater
The Crater

The walls are 60m high I think and the crater is about 80m deep but it hasn't all been explored because the underground water system around it is too deep!


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb