Kangaroo meat and the Great Barrier Reef


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
May 7th 2012
Published: May 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

My first day upon arrival in Cairns, I was relieved to be in warm weather. It's humid, tropical, and definitely a turnaround from the weather in Melbourne. I had a walkaround the city and was determined to hold a koala. I asked around and it was too late to take a trip to the zoo. I knew the only time I would be able to do so would be on my first day since I have day plans for the next three days. So...I asked around and found a place in the city where you could do so. And that I did 😊 So cute that cuddly little fur ball...with massive claws!

Next, I needed some lunch...had some fish n chips. Then walked around the night market and had met a cool girl at the tourism office. She said she would meet me at Dundee's after her work so I went there for dinner. I ordered the Australian flair...a plate filled with emu, buffalo, barramundi, kangaroo, and crocodile. Literally, crocodile taste like chicken, emu like pork, and kangaroo like beef 😊 Afterwards, she showed up and since I already had a glass of wine, we ordered some coffee instead.

Then today, woke up early for the Great Barrier Reef. It was lovely and I snorkeled and feel a bit more confident compared to when I snorkeled in Hawaii! I saw large fish and small ones and a sea turtle 😊 I started feeling a little sea sick getting there as the waters were really rough. It also didn't help that half the people on the boat were sea sick, throwing up around me. I met cool people who were the crew on the boat and they totally made my day. Afterwards, the captain bought me a drink and walked me back to my hotel. I wanted to grab dinner and walked to the city. As soon as I sat down, I started to feel sick as though I was still on the boat. So, I ordered a pizza to go and ate in my hotel. I hope I feel better as tomorrow is a long day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 47, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

From Dundees RestaurantFrom Dundees Restaurant
From Dundees Restaurant

Kangaroo, crocodile, emu, barramundi, and buffalo
Splash RestaurantSplash Restaurant
Splash Restaurant

Fish n chips


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0329s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb