Melbourne Days 2 and 3


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Philip Island
May 5th 2012
Published: May 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

My second day in Melbourne was nice. Woke up early and headed out to Federation Square. Walked out to Chinatown and had some really good Japanese curry for cheap. Then made our way to Churchill Island, saw some wallabies, went to the Koala Conservation Centre, Heritage Farm, and Phillip Island to see the Little Penguins. There were so cute, all 800 of them. They basically waddle their way from the shore to the beach and into their burrows as you walk along the boardwalk. Then got back to the city and had to make sure I made a trek to Red Pepper Indian Restaurant, as recommended by the people I met last night in the Italian restaurant. I went there, it was cheaper than expected ($19.50 for a curry, naan, rice and samosas), and absolutely delicious! It was so yummy. Apparently I ordered a lot for one person that I was told by the waiter that I could ask for a box to be taken away, but it was too good that I had to finish it! I struggled, but I did it! As I was getting ready to walk out, the waiter was impressed I finished my food and didn't need it to go 😊 I walked back to Federation Square and took the tram back to my hotel. Gosh I love this city and the food!

My third day was an early one. I made plans to go to the Great Ocean Road. We drove to Bells Beach, the place for the Rip Curl Surfing Pro comps and onto Cape Otway for the beautiful lighthouse. We also saw some wild kangaroos and koalas and onto the 12 Apostles and Loch Ard Gorge. They were beautiful. It was a long day and got back to the hotel for some yummy desserts. I now fly to warmer weather to Cairns as it was freezing in Melbourne. I'm looking forward to it but feel so sad I didn't spend enough time here in Melbourne. There is so much to do that I will definitely be coming back, without a doubt! My hotel was across from Albert Park, the place where they hold Formula 1...and I didn't even have time to see it 😞 Sigh...hence...need to come back!


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



7th May 2012

great pics
looks like your having a lot of fun, havent read your blog till now, glad your having fun, see you back in LA
7th May 2012

Thanks George! Yes...I don't want to leave and go back home! :(

Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.1156s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb