From Gosford to Cairns


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
July 21st 2010
Published: July 21st 2010
Edit Blog Post

So I've had an action packed few days, where on earth did I leave off last time?

Right so after catching my amazing fish on Friday I left it to eat for the next day on Saturday and my was it mightily good! Saturday Kate took me to the Japanese Gardens where her and Byron got married. It's beautiful. Not much more you can say! What an amazing little hub. We wandered through the art gallery and the art was intriguing but then turned, well, a little simple. It turns out that you can get your art into a gallery even if you only use paper and crayon. So come on everyone lets get going!
Outside in the gardens were another couple getting married, very sweet.

After we went to the Ken Duncan gallery and the pictures he takes are stunning. It's only a small gallery and I think that unless you knew it was there you wouldn't see it. (I went to the one in Cairns and it's not really a gallery as such as it is a shop :S). I bought some postcards of places nearby where my family lives as little momentos.
In the evening we had dinner at Uncle Bob and Auntie Jennifers, where we had hot fondue chocolate, strawberries, marshmallows and melon for pudding. Best ever.

Sunday was beautiful if not a little sad. I went to Tuggerah beach with Kate, Charlie and Uncle Bob and had some mighty fine fish and chips. I caught the train back to Sydney and hopped on a connection train to the airport to get my flight to Cairns.

Monday was a more find more out about Cairns and what to do. I have to admit Cairns isn't exactly a city as it is a town. But the weather is beautiful!

Tuesday I met my friend Becci who I used to go to school with in Cairns and she got me a mega discount on a Great Barrier Reef snorkeling package. $75 altogether amazing! We caught up on the way out to the Reef and then spent about an hour and a half snorkeling. It really is another world under the sea, you really don't realise it until you see it! I saw a sting ray, giant clams, and I swam through a huge school of fish. There were easily 150 silver fish. It was amazing it was definitely worth doing and I'd do it in a heart beat. When I got back onto the boat we feasted on a great buffet and ate prawns the size of my hand, huge cuts of melon, pasta, salad...everything. Even tea and cake was served in the afternoon and I got myself a free photo of me, Becci and her boyfriend Sam.

Today I am going to be chilling out with Becci at the lagoon. Friday brings a massive tour of the tablelands and the waterfalls.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0421s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb