Ice Skating, Gum Trees and Fishing


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Gosford
July 16th 2010
Published: July 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

What a few days! I've had a real blast here and I've managed to do so much which I wouldn't have done before even if they are things you can do anywhere.

Wednesday I had a lazy day with Byron, my cousins husband and went down to Erina Fair Shopping Centre and booked myself a ticket to Cairns leaving on Sunday. This will be my last stop in Australia which is a little sad. Once I'm there I'll be there for one week and then I will be heading to Singapore for three nights and then back home.
In the afternoon we went down to the beach where they do a pelican feeding at The Entrance which was really exciting. I've never seen a pelican up close before and they really are funny looking things. It looks like someone has taken a marker and drawn their eyes on. The skin on the underside of the jaw is really stretchy and can go quite far. They also had a film crew down there doing a small extract on the pelicans for the National Geographic channel. I didn't go on!

Thursday morning, myself, Byron, Kate and Charlotte went ice skating. I had only done this once when I was about ten so it certainly took me a while to get used to the ice. Kate and Charlotte stayed on the sidelines while I stiffly got onto the ice with Byron, shouting "oh my god" and 'Don't let go!" as he tried to get me skating. It took me a while but I eventually got the hang of it. What made it a bit nerve wracking was that the kids are all on school holidays and are showing off skating around (but also falling over!) and so I was a little nervous. Byron pulled me around so I did get some speed and I loved it! Shame really we only got one hour, just as I was getting the hang of it!

Today (Friday) we all went fishing! Byron and Kate have their own boat so we drove down to The Entrance lake with Buddy the dog and I learnt how to bait, cast and fish. I even caught my own fish a Bream, which certainly went down with a fight. I feel very proud of myself, have a look on my facebook for the pics because right now I can't upload pics to travelblog. When we sailed out to Pelican Island on my second cast I managed to get a baby flathead but because it was so small we couldn't keep it so we had to throw it back. And fish out of water certainly flop about. They're wild. Well I suppose I would be if I were in it's place! For lunch Kate took me to Bamboo Buddha, a beautiful and organic vegetarian restaurant near Charlottes nursery which we headed to after a two hour lunch.
Having gone into the nursery I think the kids really took to me, showing me all their toys and doing drawings. Even the staff asked if I worked in child care, so who knows I could be the next supernanny!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.186s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb