Lazing in Cairns


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
December 3rd 2009
Published: December 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Shark jawsShark jawsShark jaws

Cheesy, cheesy picture
Hi,

Today hasn't been too action packed I'm afraid. I shall be off for a couple of days on a liveaboard dive vessel and checking out of the hostel in the morning so I just need to get my stuff packed up and sorted again. I just popped into town, primarily to get a new memory card for my camera since I finished the first one yesterday.

Whilst in town I stopped into the Cairns museum. This is much smaller than previous ones I've visited but for once I actually arrived at the right time to get the tour. This meant that I got to pose with tiger shark jaws, a crocodile skull and sawfish saw! The museum itself had what I am now thinking of as the typical array of exhibits- some bits about how the local Aborigines lived, how Cairns was founded and life there in the early days (it came about as a result of a gold rush nearby. The gold finds were disappointing, but by the time people gave up, Cairns was established as a port anyway) and something about the Cairns Aerial Ambulance, which later merged with the Flying Doctor Service. It was all
Foreshore lagoonForeshore lagoonForeshore lagoon

It's nice enough.
nice enough, but nothing to write home about. Even though that is exactly what I have just done.

I still had a bit of time left before the shuttle bus back to the hostel arrived so just filled it with a vanilla milkshake and a sit by the foreshore lagoon reading a book.

When I got back I played a few games of pool- amazingly I won the first four, but then lost two, so I stopped (not just because I had lost my winning streak, I had had enough of the game anyway), and basically came up after that to write this blog.

Sorry, not exciting today.



Advertisement



3rd December 2009

Jaws
Loved the picrure in the sharks jaws- Cairns sounds more my type of place than the Outback. Wonder if there's any scientific research on sea life,rather than just a museum?
15th December 2009

The outback was much better than Cairns!

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0709s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb