Gday From Australia Mate!!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
January 10th 2009
Published: January 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The Flight to Darwin was kinda eventful because not only were my two stalkers sitting two rows behind me monitoring my every move, but there was also a significant amount of turbulence in the air to keep us weary passengers amused. After an involuntary game of musical chairs (disembarking only to re-embark immediately) and admiring cork hats...the flight continued its merry way to Cairns, Queensland where upon I suffered another life first...having my suitcase checked!!! I really wish I could have had something really exciting in there as opposed to clothes, toiletries and dirty laundry (which almost got aired in public), something like maybe a bong, set of handcuffs or better still an inflatable giraffe which would have been hysterical...oh how my mind works!! On arrival at JJs Backpackers, I met my new roommate David, he is Swedish, plays the guitar and seems a generally nice guy...before my eyelids pulled down the Out to Lunch shutters and I slept for three hours solid, missing out on the excitement of the third bed in our room being changed...Yes, I was technically shagged!!! This evening, I hopped onto the hostel courtesy bus and went into town for my free dinner at the Woolshed which consisted of chilli con carne and rice which was both very yummy and exceedingly hot...before meeting David and going down to check out the night market which was pretty much bustling with life and the location of the nearest Irish Bar...PJ O'Briens which I found whilst also observing that they have Coyote Nights on Wednesdays (Happy Days Indeed). The weather today has pretty much sucked so by the time I got back to base, I was soaked through...the forecast isn’t great either with a huge monsoon area moving in from the NW due to hit Cairns on Thursday or Friday...I knew I should have packed my rubber ring!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb