Not A Cairns In The World


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
June 2nd 2008
Published: February 2nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

So once again Qantas confirmed themselves as a shit airline, jesus how difficult is it to get a fair paying passenger a veggie meal on a plane, in the end they had a spare meal, but thats not the point. I speak to them till im blue in the face and i have my meal confirmed and on the flight no meal?, i paid them 249 dollars between route a change and date changes and i get shoddy service.....so if i can possibly help it after my hong kong flight im never flying with them again.

I got to Cairns at 4.40am and got a airport shuttle just after 5am and waited at the hostel till 10.30am to get checked in and get a room and so i was cranky and tired, i booked a barrier reef snorkel trip and a 14,000ft sky dive, i then headed out and looked around the city and esplanade as i was then beyond sleep, you know that stage you get too.

Its nice and quiet in cairns but id imagine it would get boring after a while here, i then went to the whoolshed that evening and claimed my free meal as my voucher from the hostel and hung out and chatted with some of the others from the hostel, earlier that day i had been to a market at the shore and brought some souvenirs and i was up the next day at 6.30am to get to the port and get on the barrier reef cruise.

On board i chatted and hung out with this girl emma who is half english and half danish, i had hired an underwater camera and it was a cool day with drinks and food on board which was good. It was a great day and the amount of different fish and clams and coral was amazing and deffienetly worth a visit.

That night i got back and hung out with other travelers at the hostel and went for my free meal again and planned a late wake up as my skydive pick up was not till 11am, some asian guys moved into the room and they were quite cool and we chatted and then i had my first lie in for a long time, i got up at 9.30am wowwww.

The next morning i discovered that while i was out at the reef my trainers had gone missing and they are gortex salomon trainers and so not cheap and the only trainers i have, the hostel cleaners had no recolection of moving anything and the hostel said they couldnt be held responsible which pissed me off. The bus for the skydive was late, but it eventually got there and i was on my way to the air filed for a 14,000ft skydive and my first ever skydive, on the bus were some english travelers and italian etc and it was cool chatting about my travels and theres.

We got there and we were split into three groups and i was in the last group, it was amazing seeing the first group down and they had a park landing, i was having a beach landing. Eventually it came my time and i had paid for a dvd and photos the camera rolled and the bravado spilled out, then on the plane and when it got to right height i had some serious butterflys, as it turned out for some reason we had to wait and so the plane had climbed and three of us went out at 15,000ft.

First one girl and the next then it was my turn and my instructor and tandem dave told me to shuffle and smile for the camera and the next thing i was free falling and i was swearing like crazy but in an excited way, as it was so crazy and so amazing and then we got to deployment height and i chatted to dave and then he let me steer for a bit and then we swooped down onto the beach, it was simply amazing and words can not describe it. We got bussed back and i swapped facebook details with some of the folk and picked up my video later, booked a taxi for the next day, watched top gear, chilled out and eat with the guiys from my room. I managed to get a scratty pair of trainers that will last me till kao san road and then i can get some knock off addidas or converse or something.

Got up at 4am today and got a taxi to the airport, managed to swing an upgrade to buisness class on the cairns brisbane flight, orignally i was going sydney and then hong kong, but the sydney flight was changed to 15.45 and getting me into hong kong at midnight i think and so i got swaped to brisbane and a hong flight there, no buiness seat on the hong kong flight, but got access to the qantas lounge and got a row of seats blocked off and to myself in economy so if you complain enough it eventually works out😊.

The flight was good as i had room to lie down and was fulled by alchol....lol, the flight was late in duee to bad weather and having to circle hong kong.


Advertisement