Day 20 - Join the tour in Cairns


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
March 11th 2024
Published: March 11th 2024
Edit Blog Post

So here goes! I got to my alarm at 8:30. I’m showered and sorted, and on the hunt for breakfast. I hope I can find where to eat! it is very quiet here. I set off moseying around. I passed a cleaning lady, then another guest, it looks like he’s just arrived, and had his own breakfast all appearing out of his bag. He’s sitting comfortably at a table around the poolside with his coat on, on his own.

I walked around the pool looking for tables that are set up for breakfast, or at least people eating breakfast! No joy. I finally went to reception. I had to ring the staff bell. I feel like I’m at, ‘The Bates’ Motel’! But we’ve had no shower scenes, so I’m fine… ha ha!

Finally, the girl told me to go over to the glass doors. I did that earlier, there appears to be none there, but I’ll go again because she’s watching me! … No, they are locked, but then a young man popped his head out of the serving hatch. He explained that it isn’t full service as there aren’t many guests. He gave me the menu, telling me I can order whatever I want, he will get it for me. I ordered; muesli with cold milk, then omelette with no meat and toast, a cappuccino and a glass of water. He asked me where I want to have it???? Erm! He said did I want it in my room? Definitely not, it’s a dingy box! So I looked round the pool, and said, ‘over there’.

I walked around the pool, we had a big rainstorm last night, so everywhere is is soaking, apart from the table where the old guy is sitting! Keep on walking Lesley! Finally, I find a table with at least one dry chair.

My breakfast arrives. The young guy is really nice, it doesn’t appear to seem weird for him, so I just go with it. To be honest, the breakfast was nice. I’m totally comfortable eating on my own, not so much being the only person in the place, as even the old guy has left now! I love people watching, but there’s no one to watch!

To be fair, the breakfast was nice, it was just marred by the lack of atmosphere!!

I’ve now got 25 minutes to go to check out time. All I have to repack is my wash bag and pjs! Then put all my bits back into my hand bag. It’ll take me longer to finish my coffee!

It actually took me 12 minutes to check out, get a taxi, and arrive at my next hotel. I’m now checked in at The Mercure. This hotel seems a lot busier, and there are other people here. I’m not sure quite where I am in relation to my last hotel, so I’ll have a look what is around.

At 5pm I will go to the reception area where I’ll meet the Stray tour guide along with the other people who I’ll be travelling with for the next 19 days! That’ll be interesting! I’m sure it’ll be a mixed bag!

I was having a look at what’s around. I’ve got about 6 hours to busy myself. I have noticed that there is Cairns Botanical Gardens nearby. I can walk it in about an hour, or get the bus! Bus it is!

I got to the bus stop within minutes, so I have a 20 minute wait. There’s me and a Japanese girl waiting, she’s looking confused. I ended up helping her sort herself out. It turns out that she’s also going to The Botanical Gardens. I let her know, we are going to the same place, so she can follow me! The bus arrived, I flagged it down, I ordered my return ticket, and informed the driver she needed the same! She was very relieved…. If only she knew…. I know nothing! Ha ha. We arrived in about 20 minutes, before I left her, I quickly showed her where to get the return bus, using sign language to communicate that she already has the teturn ticket’.

I did pass her a few times walking around the gardens, she just smiles at me, I just smile back, aw, bless her!

I saw a plant very similar to one that Donna and I call, ‘Me Julie’ , after my sister who passed, but that’s another story. Just to note, I was emotional to see it, even if it’s not the same plant, it triggered me.

I came across he cafe area, yes, I’m ready for a drink, and it’s actually lunchtime, which I hadn’t noticed! Obviously, I took a seat! I’m having an iced Earl Grey tea with lemon and a bottle of water to go…… oh.., go on then, I’ll also have a cheese toastie, seeing as I’m sat at the table, I may as well… ha ha!!

Enjoyed the stop, and short rest in the shade, and the food and drink too! It’s really nice in the gardens. It’s beautiful, and it offers lots of shady areas too. You really need those areas. I’m keeping my food and water intake up on a good level, but this weather still really takes it out of you!

It’s now about 2pm, so I am going to get my map on, and find my return bus stop… I do hope the Japanese girl got sorted!

That was a successful outing, and I’m back at the hotel in one piece! My room is now ready to survey, and occupy! I’ll be here for 2 nights, so my first job is to wash my bits! And there’s a bonus… I’ve got an outside balcony to dry it on! Since Sri Lanka I’ve been just putting it around my room! But you take what you’ve got! There are laundry services, but I always worry I won’t get it back in good time. So I stick to trusting myself!

I went around the pool for an hour before I get ready for the meet up later. I didn’t go in just dozed for a while! I went back to my room to get ready to meet the group at five o’clock.

The group is much smaller than I had expected. It must be a minibus, rather than a coach! Which will be nice, it is more personal. There are 11 of us, including Johanna, the tour guide and she’s also the driver. The group consists of 2 Brits, 3 Brazilians, 2 Germans, 1 French and Johanna’s Mum and Dad who are from Finland, but living in Australia. So that’s the group.

We met for an hour, just chatting, getting to know each other, and offering short introductions, it really seems like a good group for people.

All acquainted, we set off walking to our first group meal at a restaurant called Ochre. It’s known for using indigenous ingredients in all the food. The weather was lovely as we set off, then within 3 minutes, the rain came down! We were all completely wet through to the skin! As I’ve said before, it is so warm that the rain is not so bad! Once you’re that wet, it can’t get worse, and at least everyone is in the same boat. It wasn’t a very long walk, I think it was about 15 minutes.

Ochre is the most awarded restaurant. It offers adventurous menus featuring native game, herbs and seafood.

We had the shared tasting plate menu, which quite honestly, was incredible! We were brought a plate of various bush foods like wattle seeds, quandong, finger limes, lemon myrtle amongst a few others. We were given a taster, and a talk about how they are used in the menu. We had the following:
Emu wantons, slices of crocodile, kangaroo, salmon, and a bit of salad
Followed by:
Crocodile in chilli sambol
Kangaroo in Davidson plum sauce served with fries and salad
Then an array of fruits, with a kiwi Pavlova and 3 different sorbets.

We all ate everything! It was amazing! By the time we had finished our meal, the rain had stopped, a few people are going out to have a drink, some are getting an Uber, and 4 of us are walking. The Ubers and the walkers arrived back to the hotel at exactly the same time!

It’s been a lovely evening! It’s a free day in Cairns tomorrow. We’ll see what I decide to do then! Some of the group have stuff planned, I’m not one of them!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0425s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb