Kids restore the Kelper


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
February 13th 2013
Published: February 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday was another quiet day after all of Tuesday excitement. I headed into town to get some cheap longer sleeved tops for new Zealand as people keep warning me how cold it will be trip successful except for the large and very painful blister/cut that my shoes made on my heal the afternoon was dedicated to more planning, visiting a few op shops (massive warehouse charity shops) with Rowena and then made dinner for us all. Today my work experience placement in Te Anau (in the fjordlands – the South East of the South Islands) was confirmed. I am very excited for this – working on a project called ‘Kids restore the Kelper’ which runs on the kelper track and aims to get children connected with nature and conservation from an early age.

It is usually local children that come and partake in activities, but on the 3rd of March they have a school group coming to stay at the camp for a week – which is where I come in. I am going down on the 21st Feb to help plan the activities and become familiar with them with the other staff before the children arrive. I am then helping out and doing the activities when the children are there, and they have made the placement two weeks long, which is great, and have a big conservation day on the Saturday I am helping out with and then a few bits in the week after. I am very happy that all my hard work last October trying to organise some experience for whilst I am here paid off. It does mean however that I have to rethink the original order of my trip and fly down South for the 21st Feb, very soon after I land, but this now means I get to see the South Island, apparently the better one, more in the summer time, than entering the Winter.

Advertisement



19th February 2013

Very exciting
Sounds exciting Kate, it will be a great experience working with the children and getting them interested with nature, I would love to do something like that. Good luck and look forward to hearing further about it.

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb