Leonnie, Heidi, Bridesmaids, Electric car charging points, Surfing, Paddlebaording and Tim Tams...WHAT A DAY!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
February 12th 2013
Published: February 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday has to go down as one of the most exciting days of the year/my trip so far, and it all occurred before 9am, well and then after lunch again! I had a FANTASTIC talk on skype with Leonnie for over an hour – catching up on life and her Zimbabwe trip, it was just so lovely to talk to her. Following this Heidi popped online and asked me if I would like to be her bridesmaid…….errrr YES PLEASE! And then one of the ladies at work from Milton Keynes emailed me a picture of the electric car charging points – the project we had been working on for over a year, the grant had finally come through and they had been installed. It’s so great to hear the work and effort I put in is paying off/continuing!

After all the excitement of the morning I didn’t think the day could be any better, until I got picked up after lunch, Jae driving us to the coast where we spent several hours surfing. I didn’t catch as many waves as I did at the weekend as the wave was fatter and harder for me to catch but I got a few in and just enjoy being in the sea, out back behind the waves relaxing. Once out of the surf, around 5pm we drove around the headland slightly to Currumban Creek, unloaded the paddleboard and the racing mal and spent several hours paddling along the river, paddling back at sunset. The water was so still, the sky blue and it was the most fantastic scenery to paddle in as well as such a lovely relaxed atmosphere. We didn’t get off the water until 7.30pm and ravenous we loaded the car and headed back where Jae made yummy veggies with qinuoa. After dinner we looked at the pictures from the weekend and I was given an Australian right of passage…..I was shown the tim tam trick! Tim tams are the equivalent of a penguin bar at home, but slightly nicer. The trick is to nibble off the diagonally opposite ends of the bar slightly and then put the bar in a glass of milk and suck through one of the nibbled corners of the bar….you can drink the milk through the biscuit, and it makes the biscuit inside the tim tam go milky, but not too soft and gooey.

Advertisement



19th February 2013

Well done
Hi Kate, great to hear all the had work you put in at work in MK has paid off. Congratulations on being asked to be a bridesmaid.

Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1278s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb