You live, learn and then move on


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
December 24th 2010
Published: December 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Happy Holidays,

You will be surely missed and I wish you the best for 2011. It's going almost one month since last working, simply enjoying the holidays after two unpleasant experiences. The city is more my speed. Let me tell you about my island experience before I start raving about my road trip.

Koala Adventure Island use to be the happening, party island with tons of water sports, 18 and up only aloud, but not the case for the past 5 years. Of course, my job placement agency won't tell me that. Lesson learned, take matters in your own hands and make decisions for yourself so you have no one to blame. Wisely, you know yourself the best. For now on I'm booking my transportation, accommodations, cooking for myself and finding a job that's worth it. Most importantly, an ideal location.

I had 8 days experience as a receptionist, was able to paddleboat, karaoke, saw sea turtles and beautiful fish and did a bush walk on the island which they are popular for compared to the other islands. Management was run poorly, they didn't care if the staff were happy so what's the motive except to leave. Phone calls everyday from a collector, Xerox company was coming to collect the copy machine since they haven't paid. If you job can't even pay for essentials for the business, how do you know if they'll pay you? Rido (alright), another reason to get the move on. I'm happy that I learned what not to do in running a business.

Reality check, I wasn't meant for the position that I was hired for, instead the run around girl due to shortage in staff. The resort only had 6 staff whilst the other resorts have 200, is this a resort or hostel that I'm working for!?! You won't believe they made me do housekeeping b/c inspectors were coming that day. I was on a hunt to search in each section for the best one to show, if I'm on a hunt, that must tell you something about the rooms, go figure.

One advantage, I met my long lost Filipino bro that is from Cali too, Escondido to be precise. He was good company and a good dance and karaoke partner. Plan to reunite with him for sure. He's the one who trained me not the manager. Check out my FB for photo album. Don't let it fool you, it's nice on the outside but not looking in.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0275s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb