Last Night In Brisbane


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
March 9th 2010
Published: March 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Bron dropped me off at my hostel on Monday morning. I wasn't able to check into my room until 3pm, so I did a bit more wandering around the city. I checked in and went to drop off my bags in the 4 bed dorm I was sharing, but it was so messy I couldn't even find room on the floor to drop my bags. Some girls were obviously living in the room, and had made themselves totally at home. I made a bit of room on the floor and dropped my bags, and went to explore the hostel. I found the tv lounge, but there were 3 or 4 guys sitting around drinking, making rude comments about girls they knew. I hung out in there for awhile, but felt pretty unsafe because there were no other girls around. I eventually went and got my nail polish and went outside to repaint my nails. The guys came out and were chatting to me, but they were pretty drunk and a bit annoying. I think ther were nice enough but they made me very uneasy. As the night went on I found out none of them were paying to stay at the hostel, and they were actually living in Brisbane but hanging out at the hostel. I thought that was a bit weird, and then found out one of them steals everything he can see, which made me even more wary of them. All this time I'm sitting with them at the table, chatting and laughing, but actually pretty scared about the whole situation. Anyway, long story short I went back into my room and there were 2 girls there. I said hello, they said nothing but gave me dirty looks. I decided lifes too short to feel that scared and unwelcome, so went to reception and paid an extra $50 to get my own private double room. I went back into my room, and the 2 unfriendly girls were gone and there was a friendly english girl there. I started chatting to her and it turns out she was doing the same tour as me the next day! Small world I tell you. Anyway, she had been told a different pick up time and location than me, so we had to phone and find out who was right. Turns out she was, so if I hadn't randomly met her I would never have been picked up by my tour guide! So anyway, I moved rooms into my awesome double room, and met up with Nicki again and we went for dinner. The next morning we met again and walked to the other hostel where the pickup point for the tour was. Goodbye Brisbane...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.033s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb